Committee: House Committee on Appropriations Tuesday, February 27, 2024 8:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Duba, Rep. Karr, Rep. Kassin, Rep. Koth, Rep. Krull, Rep. Mills,

Rep. Otten (Ernie), Rep. Venhuizen, and Rep. Derby

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

### The meeting was called to order by Representative Derby

### **MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 20<sup>TH</sup>

Moved by: Koth Second by: Karr

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

# SB 29: allow eligible members of the South Dakota National Guard attending an in-state private, nonprofit post-secondary institution to receive the state tuition benefit.

Presented by: MG Mark Morrell, Department of the Military

Proponents: Tim Dougherty, South Dakota Association of Independent Colleges, Sioux

Falls

#### **MOTION:** DO PASS SB 29

Moved by: Otten (Ernie)

Second by: Kassin

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Duba, Karr, Kassin, Koth, Krull, Mills, Otten (Ernie), Venhuizen, and Derby

## HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 29 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

# SB 72: increase the annual limit of tax credits that an insurance company may claim through the partners in education tax credit program.

Presented by: Representative Jon Hansen

Proponents: Senator Jim Stalzer

Robert Satter, South Dakota Partners in Education, Sioux Falls

Doug Abraham, SD Science & Technology Authority

Senator Jim Bolin

Sandra Marie Waltman, South Dakota Education Association, Pierre

Senator Lee Schoenbeck

Michael G. Pauley, South Dakota Catholic Conference, Rapid City

Becky Walsh, Self, Pierre Niki Zickmond, Self, On Line

Jason Watson, Sunshine Bible School, Miller

Linda Schauer, Self, Leola

Opponents: Dianna Miller, Large School Group (Aberdeen), Aberdeen

Douglas R. Wermedal, Associated School Boards of South Dakota, Pierre

Rob L. Monson, School Administrators of South Dakota, Pierre Sandra Marie Waltman, South Dakota Education Association, Pierre Yvonne Taylor, SD Advocacy Network for Women, Sioux Falls

Tuesday, February 27, 2024 8:00 AM

**MOTION:** DO PASS SB 72

Moved by: Venhuizen

Second by: Mills

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-2-0-0)

Voting Yes: Karr, Kassin, Koth, Mills, Otten (Ernie), Venhuizen, and Derby

Voting No: Duba and Krull

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DEFER SB 72 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Duba Second by: Krull

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (2-7-0-0)

Voting Yes: Duba and Krull

Voting No: Karr, Kassin, Koth, Mills, Otten (Ernie), Venhuizen, and Derby

#### **Revert to previous motion**

SB 1: expand eligibility for the reduced tuition benefit for certain school district and Head Start employees at Board of Regents institutions to school counselors.

Presented by: Representative Taylor Rehfeldt Proponents: Heather Forney, Board of Regents

Senator Michael Rohl

Douglas R. Wermedal, Associated School Boards of South Dakota, Pierre

Rob L. Monson, School Administrators of South Dakota, Pierre Dianna Miller, South Dakota Counseling Association, Platte

**MOTION:** DO PASS SB 1

Moved by: Kassin

Second by: Otten (Ernie)

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Duba, Karr, Kassin, Koth, Krull, Mills, Otten (Ernie), Venhuizen, and Derby

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 1 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

SB 47: revise the incentive program for juvenile diversion opportunities.

Presented by: Kristi Bunkers, Department of Corrections Proponents: Sadie Stevens, Unified Judicial System

Brittni Skipper, Department of Corrections

**MOTION:** DO PASS SB 47

Moved by: Duba Second by: Koth

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Duba, Karr, Kassin, Koth, Krull, Mills, Otten (Ernie), Venhuizen, and Derby

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 47 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

SB 137: make an appropriation for the health and wellbeing of South

Dakotans.

**MOTION:** DO PASS SB 137

Moved by: Venhuizen Second by: Koth

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Duba, Karr, Kassin, Koth, Krull, Mills, Otten (Ernie), Venhuizen, and Derby

SB 138: make an appropriation to provide for the development of South

Dakota.

**MOTION:** DO PASS SB 138

Moved by: Venhuizen Second by: Otten (Ernie)

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Duba, Karr, Kassin, Koth, Krull, Mills, Otten (Ernie), Venhuizen, and Derby

**MOTION:** ADJOURN

Moved by: Kassin

Second by: Otten (Ernie)

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

**MOTION:** DO PASS SB 47

Leonard Chick, Committee Secretary

/s/ MIKE DERBY Mike Derby, Chair