Committee: House Judiciary Friday, February 23, 2024 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Fitzgerald, Rep. Kull, Rep. Massie, Rep. Odenbach, Rep. Reimer,

Rep. Soye, Rep. Teunissen, Rep. Tordsen, Rep. Stevens, and Rep. Hansen

Excused: Rep. Pourier, Rep. Reisch, and Rep. St. John

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Hansen

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 21ST

Moved by: Stevens Second by: Teunissen

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

SB 6: revise provisions related to death by distribution of a Schedule I or II substance.

Presented by: Representative Brian Mulder (Handout(s) 1)

Proponents: Senator David Wheeler

Matthew McCaulley, SD States Attorneys Assn., Harrisburg

Opponents: Cash Anderson, South Dakota Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Rapid

City

MOTION: DO PASS SB 6

Moved by: Fitzgerald Second by: Kull

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (10-1-2-0)

Voting Yes: Fitzgerald, Kull, Massie, Odenbach, Reimer, Soye, Teunissen, Tordsen,

Stevens, and Hansen

Voting No: Pourier

Excused: Reisch and St. John

SB 175: add a domestic abuse shelter to the definition of a community safety

zone.

Presented by: Representative Amber Arlint Proponents: Senator David Wheeler

Dianna Miller, South Dakota Network Against Family Violence, Sioux Falls

Sarah Reinhart, Self, Pierre

MOTION: DO PASS SB 175

Moved by: Pourier Second by: Fitzgerald

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Fitzgerald, Kull, Massie, Odenbach, Pourier, Reimer, Soye, St. John,

Teunissen, Tordsen, Stevens, and Hansen

Excused: Reisch

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 175 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

SB 211: revise notarial acts.

Presented by: Senator David Wheeler

Proponents: Shane Pullman, Department of Transportation

Roger A. Tellinghuisen, South Dakota Association of County Officials, Pierre

Tom J. Deadrick, Secretary of State

Brett Koenecke, South Dakota Bankers Association, Pierre

Deb Mortenson, AGC of SD, Pierre

Matthew McCaulley, SD States Attorneys Assn., Harrisburg

MOTION: DO PASS SB 211

Moved by: Stevens Second by: Reimer

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-1-1-0)

Voting Yes: Fitzgerald, Kull, Massie, Odenbach, Pourier, Reimer, St. John, Teunissen,

Tordsen, Stevens, and Hansen

Voting No: Sove

Excused: Reisch

SB 61: repeal the Visitation Grant Advisory Group.

Presented by: Jon Bierne, Department of Public Safety

Sadie Stevens, Unified Judicial System

MOTION: DO PASS SB 61

Moved by: Kull Second by: Fitzgerald

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Fitzgerald, Kull, Massie, Odenbach, Pourier, Reimer, Soye, St. John,

Teunissen, Tordsen, Stevens, and Hansen

Excused: Reisch

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 61 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

Friday, February 23, 2024 10:00 AM

House Judiciary

Madisen Vetter, Committee Secretary

/s/ JON HANSEN
Jon Hansen, Chair