Committee: House Commerce and Energy Friday, February 23, 2024 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Arlint, Rep. Bahmuller, Rep. Callies, Rep. Donnell, Rep. Duffy,

Rep. Krohmer, Rep. Mulally, Rep. Nelson, Rep. Pinnow, Rep. Schneider,

Rep. Shorma, Rep. Perry, and Rep. Weisgram

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Weisgram

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 21ST

Moved by: Nelson Second by: Schneider

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

SB 89: reduce the notice requirement period to terminate a tenancy at will.

Presented by: Representative Ben Krohmer (Handout(s) 1)

Proponents: Senator Michael Rohl

Opponents: Jennifer Stalley, AARP South Dakota, Sioux Falls

Ben Sherman, Self, Rapid City Karissa Loewen, self, Rapid City

MOTION: DO PASS SB 89

Moved by: Bahmuller Second by: Shorma

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-3-1-0)

Voting Yes: Arlint, Bahmuller, Donnell, Krohmer, Mulally, Pinnow, Schneider, Shorma, and

Weisgram

Voting No: Callies, Nelson, and Perry

Excused: Duffy

SB 90 : revise and repeal provisions related to forcible entry and detainer.

Presented by: Senator Michael Rohl

Opponents: Tillie Bulman, self, Sioux Falls

Karissa Loewen, self, Rapid City

MOTION: DO PASS SB 90

Moved by: Krohmer Second by: Mulally

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-2-0-0)

Voting Yes: Arlint, Bahmuller, Donnell, Duffy, Krohmer, Mulally, Pinnow, Schneider,

Shorma, Perry, and Weisgram

Voting No: Callies and Nelson

SB 148: provide permissive authority to a governing body of a municipality or county to deny reissuance of an on-sale license not actively used.

Presented by: Senator Jean Hunhoff
Proponents: Representative Tim Reisch

Dan Klimisch, Self, Utica Kevin Hempel, self, Watertown Jason Evans, Department of Revenue

Matt Krogman, SD Licensed Beverage Dealer & Gaming Assoc., Rapid City

MOTION: DO PASS SB 148

Moved by: Shorma Second by: Krohmer

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Arlint, Bahmuller, Callies, Donnell, Duffy, Krohmer, Mulally, Nelson, Pinnow,

Schneider, Shorma, Perry, and Weisgram

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 148 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Krohmer Second by: Nelson

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Jean Denton, Committee Secretary

/s/ MIKE WEISGRAM Mike Weisgram, Chair