Committee: Senate Commerce and Energy

Roll Call

Present:	Sen. Crabtree, Sen. Hoffman, Sen. Johnson, Sen. Nesiba, Sen. Schoenbeck,
	Sen. Stalzer, Sen. Beal, and Sen. Wheeler
Excused:	Sen. Kolbeck (Steve)

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Wheeler

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 15TH

Moved by:	Beal
Second by:	Nesiba
Action:	Prevailed by voice vote

SB 208 : reduce the employer's investment fee rate.

Presented by: Senator Ryan Maher Proponents: Representative Chris Karr

MOTION: DO PASS SB 208 AS AMENDED

Moved by:	Schoenbeck
Second by:	Stalzor

Second by:	5001261
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-1-1-0)

- Voting Yes: Crabtree, Hoffman, Johnson, Nesiba, Schoenbeck, Stalzer, and Wheeler
- Voting No: Beal

Excused: Kolbeck (Steve)

CHAS D. OLSON OF HUGHES COUNTY, PIERRE, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR OF THE SOUTH DAKOTA HOUSING DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY

Presented by: Jayden Bies, Governor's Office (Handout(s) 1)

MOTION: THAT THE SENATE ADVISE AND CONSENT TO THE APPOINTMENT OF CHAS D. OLSON OF HUGHES COUNTY, PIERRE, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR OF THE SOUTH DAKOTA HOUSING DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY

- Moved by: Crabtree
- Second by: Schoenbeck
- Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-0-1-0)
- Voting Yes: Crabtree, Hoffman, Johnson, Nesiba, Schoenbeck, Stalzer, Beal, and Wheeler
- Excused: Kolbeck (Steve)

HB 1116 : make fraudulent solicitation of charitable contributions a deceptive act or practice.

Presented by: Senator David Johnson

Proponents: Representative James Wangsness (Handout(s) 2) Julie M. Johnson, South Dakota Nonprofit Network, Pierre Erik Nelson, AARP South Dakota, Sioux Falls Grant Flynn, Attorney General

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1116

- Moved by:SchoenbeckSecond by:BealAction:Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-0-1-0)
- Voting Yes: Crabtree, Hoffman, Johnson, Nesiba, Schoenbeck, Stalzer, Beal, and Wheeler
- Excused: Kolbeck (Steve)

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1116 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

HB 1117 : repeal a requirement for the filing of an annual report regarding prearranged funeral trust contracts.

Presented by: Jasper Diegel, South Dakota Funeral Directors Association, Pierre

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1117

Moved by:	Schoenbeck
Second by:	Crabtree
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-2-0)

Voting Yes: Crabtree, Hoffman, Nesiba, Schoenbeck, Stalzer, Beal, and Wheeler

Excused: Johnson and Kolbeck (Steve)

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1117 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

HB 1126 : permit an alternative delivery method for issuance of a policy by an insurer.

Presented by: Doug Abraham, American Family Insurance Company, Eden Prairie, MN Doug Abraham, American Property Casualty Insurance Association, Chicago, IL

Proponents: Larry Deiter, Department of Labor and Regulation Erik Nelson, AARP South Dakota, Sioux Falls

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1126

Moved by:	Crabtree
Second by:	Schoenbeck
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-2-0)

- Voting Yes: Crabtree, Hoffman, Nesiba, Schoenbeck, Stalzer, Beal, and Wheeler
- Excused: Johnson and Kolbeck (Steve)

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1126 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

HB 1136 : revise the renewal fee for barber's certificate of registration.

Presented by: Senator Lee Schoenbeck Representative Byron Callies Proponents: Bryce Bohnet, Self, Winner Jeannine Loesch, self, Pierre, SD Lin Thompson, self, Rapid City, SD Jim McGuire, self, Colman, SD Opponents: Emily Ward, Department of Labor and Regulation (Handout(s) 3)

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1136

Moved	bv:	Stalzer
110100	Uy.	Sturzer

- Second by: Crabtree
- Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-1-2-0)
- Voting Yes: Crabtree, Hoffman, Nesiba, Schoenbeck, Stalzer, and Beal
- Voting No: Wheeler

Excused: Johnson and Kolbeck (Steve)

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by:	Schoenbeck
Second by:	Crabtree
Action:	Prevailed by voice vote

Susan Gullickson, Committee Secretary

/s/ DAVID WHEELER David Wheeler, Chair