Committee: Senate Health and Human Services

Wednesday, February 14, 2024 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Bordeaux, Sen. Hoffman, Sen. Novstrup, Sen. Reed, Sen. Rohl, Sen. Davis, and Sen. Tobin

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Tobin

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 07TH

Moved by:ReedSecond by:BordeauxAction:Prevailed by voice vote

SB 116 Was Withdrawn

SB 191 : restrict the use of medical cannabis for individuals on probation or conditional release.

Presented by: Senator Jim Mehlhaff

Proponents: Greg Sattizahn, Unified Judicial System Richard Tieszen, South Dakota Sheriffs Association, Eureka Kellie Wasko, Department of Corrections

MOTION: AMEND SB 191

191B

On the Introduced bill, delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:

Section 1. That a NEW SECTION be added to chapter 34-20G:

In order for an individual who is serving a probationary sentence under the supervision of the Unified Judicial System or who is on conditional release or parole from a state correctional facility under the legal custody of the Department of Corrections to utilize medical cannabis, the individual's practitioner must attest that the use of medical cannabis is: (1) Consistent with the medical standard of care for the treatment of the individual's

- (1) Consistent with the medical standard of care for the treatment of the individual's documented debilitating medical condition and any symptoms associated with the debilitating medical condition;
- (2) Reasonable in light of the practitioner's observation and the individual's physical examination, diagnostic test results, medical history, and reported symptoms; and
- (3) Reasonable in light of the risks and benefits of medical cannabis as compared to the risks and benefits of other treatment options for the individual's debilitating medical condition and any symptoms associated with the debilitating medical condition.

Moved by: Reed Second by: Davis Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: DO PASS SB 191 AS AMENDED

Moved by:	Reed
Second by:	Davis
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Bordeaux, Hoffman, Novstrup, Reed, Davis, and Tobin

Excused: Rohl

SB 198 : authorize school districts and nonpublic schools to acquire and administer nasal glucagon.

Presented by: Senator John Wiik

MOTION: DO PASS SB 198

Moved by:	Davis
Second by:	Reed
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Bordeaux, Hoffman, Novstrup, Reed, Davis, and Tobin

Excused: Rohl

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 198 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

SB 205 : direct the Department of Social Services to modify administrative rules related to work requirements for the child care assistance program.

Presented by: Senator Tim Reed

MOTION: TO TABLE SB 205

Moved by:	Davis
Second by:	Bordeaux
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Bordeaux, Hoffman, Novstrup, Reed, Davis, and Tobin

Excused: Rohl

SB 210 : establish an individual's right to make autonomous decisions about the individual's reproductive health care, and to repeal provisions related to abortion.

Presented by: Senator Reynold Nesiba

Proponents: Samantha Chapman, American Civil Liberties Union Foundation Inc., NY Dr. Amy Kelly, Self, Sioux Falls, SD Amrita Bhogia, Self, Sioux Falls, SD (Handout(s) 1) Allison Renville, Self, Sioux Falls, SD
Guy Larson, Self, Yankton, SD
Kim Floren, Self, Sioux Falls, SD
Opponents: Michael G. Pauley, South Dakota Catholic Conference, Rapid City
Ian Fury, Governor's Office
Dale Allen Bartscher, South Dakota Right to Life, Rapid City
Linda Schauer, Concerned Woman For America, Alexandria, VA
Debbie Pease, SD Family Voice Action, Rapid City

MOTION: DEFER SB 210 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by:	Hoffman
Second by:	Rohl
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Bordeaux, Hoffman, Novstrup, Reed, Rohl, Davis, and Tobin

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by:HoffmanSecond by:RohlAction:Prevailed by voice vote

Mary Kirk, Committee Secretary

/s/ ERIN TOBIN Erin Tobin, Chair