Committee: House Local Government Tuesday, February 13, 2024 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Auch, Rep. Aylward, Rep. Bahmuller, Rep. Conzet, Rep. Jamison,

Rep. Ladner, Rep. Lems, Rep. Overweg, Rep. Peterson (Sue), Rep. Sjaarda,

Rep. Wittman, Rep. Fitzgerald, and Rep. Drury

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

## The meeting was called to order by Representative Drury

#### **MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 08<sup>TH</sup>

Moved by: Fitzgerald Second by: Jamison

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

# SB 152: establish maximum fees for legal publications and to remove related rule-making authority from the Bureau of Administration.

Presented by: Senator Bryan Breitling (Handout(s) 1)

Proponents: Anita Fuoss, Bureau of Human Resources and Administration

David Bordewyk, South Dakota NewsMedia Association, Brookings Justin G. Smith, South Dakota NewsMedia Association, Brookings

### **MOTION:** DO PASS SB 152

Moved by: Auch Second by: Fitzgerald

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Auch, Aylward, Bahmuller, Conzet, Jamison, Ladner, Lems, Overweg, Sjaarda,

Wittman, Fitzgerald, and Drury

Excused: Peterson (Sue)

# SB 172: allow a person to temporarily take responsibility of a feral cat or dog for the purpose of spaying or neutering the animal.

Presented by: Representative Linda Duba Proponents: Mat Tougas, Self, Sioux Falls

Peggy Gibson, Self, Huron

#### **MOTION:** DO PASS SB 172

Moved by: Bahmuller Second by: Jamison

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-3-1-0)

Voting Yes: Aylward, Bahmuller, Conzet, Jamison, Ladner, Sjaarda, Wittman, Fitzgerald,

and Drury

Voting No: Auch, Lems, and Overweg

Excused: Peterson (Sue)

HB 1162: revise certain provisions pertaining to time of school district

elections.

Presented by: Representative Aaron Aylward

Proponents: T.J. Nelson, Opportunity Solutions Project, Tallahassee, FL Opponents: Jessica Filler, Associated School Boards of South Dakota, Pierre

**MOTION:** DO PASS HB 1162

Moved by: Peterson (Sue)

Second by: Ladner

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-6-0-0)

Voting Yes: Auch, Aylward, Conzet, Ladner, Lems, Peterson (Sue), and Sjaarda

Voting No: Bahmuller, Jamison, Overweg, Wittman, Fitzgerald, and Drury

**MOTION:** ADJOURN

Moved by: Jamison Second by: Sjaarda

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

James Sapp, Committee Secretary

/s/ BECKY J. DRURY Becky J. Drury, Chair