Committee: Senate Military and Veterans Affairs

Tuesday, February 13, 2024 3:00 PM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Hoffman, Sen. Kolbeck (Jack), Sen. Stalzer, Sen. Zikmund, and Sen. Johnson

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Zikmund

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 07TH

Moved by:StalzerSecond by:Kolbeck (Jack)Action:Prevailed by voice vote

DAVID A. DAILEY OF MEADE COUNTY, STURGIS, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE ASSISTANT ADJUTANT GENERAL, ARMY

Presented by: Connie Hohn, Department of the Military Others: David Dailey, Asst Adjutant General SD NG, Sturgis, SD, Self

MOTION: THAT THE SENATE ADVISE AND CONSENT TO THE APPOINTMENT OF DAVID A. DAILEY OF MEADE COUNTY, STURGIS, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE ASSISTANT ADJUTANT GENERAL, ARMY

Moved by:	Hoffman
-----------	---------

- Second by: Stalzer
- Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (5-0-0-0)
- Voting Yes: Hoffman, Kolbeck (Jack), Stalzer, Zikmund, and Johnson

HB 1007 : amend the requirement to employ a county veterans' service officer.

Presented by: Aaron Pollard, Department of Veterans AffairsProponents: Eric Erickson, South Dakota Association of County Commissioners, PierreOpponents: Senator David Johnson

MOTION: DEFER HB 1007 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by:JohnsonAction:Died for lack of a second

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DO PASS HB 1007

Moved by:	Kolbeck	(Jack)
-----------	---------	--------

- Second by: Stalzer
- Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (5-0-0-0)
- Voting Yes: Hoffman, Kolbeck (Jack), Stalzer, Zikmund, and Johnson

SB 180 : modify provisions pertaining to unethical conduct and improper collection of fees relating to assistance or referrals in a veterans benefits matter.

Presented by: Senator Liz Larson

MOTION: TO TABLE SB 180

Moved by:	Stalzer
Second by:	Hoffman
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (3-1-1-0)

Voting Yes: Hoffman, Stalzer, and Zikmund

Voting No: Johnson

Excused: Kolbeck (Jack)

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by:StalzerSecond by:HoffmanAction:Prevailed by voice vote

Susan Anderson, Committee Secretary

/s/ DAVID JOHNSON David Johnson, Chair