Committee: House Commerce and Energy Monday, February 12, 2024 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Arlint, Rep. Bahmuller, Rep. Callies, Rep. Donnell, Rep. Duffy,

Rep. Krohmer, Rep. Mulally, Rep. Nelson, Rep. Pinnow, Rep. Schneider,

Rep. Shorma, Rep. Perry, and Rep. Weisgram

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Weisgram

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 07TH

Moved by: Krohmer Second by: Schneider

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1246: establish a pre-condemnation process and to require reclamation and restoration of property damaged by condemnation.

Presented by: Representative Marty Overweg

MOTION: TO TABLE HB 1246

Moved by: Nelson Second by: Krohmer

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Arlint, Bahmuller, Callies, Donnell, Duffy, Krohmer, Mulally, Nelson, Pinnow,

Schneider, Shorma, Perry, and Weisgram

HB 1258: provide that a company transporting hydrogen, by pipeline, is not a common carrier.

Presented by: Representative Brandei Schaefbauer

MOTION: TO TABLE HB 1258

Moved by: Krohmer Second by: Perry

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Arlint, Bahmuller, Callies, Donnell, Duffy, Krohmer, Mulally, Nelson, Pinnow,

Schneider, Shorma, Perry, and Weisgram

HB 1219: prohibit the exercise of eminent domain for the construction of pipelines carrying carbon oxide.

Presented by: Representative Jon Hansen (Handout(s) 1)

Proponents: Amanda Radke, self, Mitchell

Mark Lapka, Self, Leola

Representative John Mills (Handout(s) 2)

John Schutte, Self, Canton

Jeremiah M. Murphy, Landowners for Eminent Domain Reform, Omaha, NE Jeremiah M. Murphy, South Dakota Stockgrowers Association, Rapid City

Mitch Richter, South Dakota Farmers Union, Huron

Opponents: Trevor Jones, Summit Carbon Solutions, Ames, IA (Handout(s) 3)

Steve Willard, South Dakota Electric Utility Companies, Pierre

Matthew McCaulley, South Dakota Ethanol Producers Association, Onida

(Handout(s) 4,5)

Samuel J. Nelson, GEVO INC, Centennial, CO

William M. Van Camp, Glacial Lakes Energy, LLC, Watertown

William M. Van Camp, Redfield Energy LLC

William M. Van Camp, Dakota Ethanol LLC, Wentworth

William M. Van Camp, Ringneck Energy, Onida

David Owen, South Dakota Chamber of Commerce & Industry, Pierre Mitch Rave, Greater Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce, Sioux Falls

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1219

Moved by: Krohmer Second by: Mulally

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (6-7-0-0)

Voting Yes: Bahmuller, Donnell, Krohmer, Mulally, Nelson, and Perry

Voting No: Arlint, Callies, Duffy, Pinnow, Schneider, Shorma, and Weisgram

MOTION: DEFER HB 1219 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Shorma Second by: Duffy

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-6-0-0)

Voting Yes: Arlint, Callies, Duffy, Pinnow, Schneider, Shorma, and Weisgram

Voting No: Bahmuller, Donnell, Krohmer, Mulally, Nelson, and Perry

Chairman Weisgram recessed House Commerce and Energy committee to be reconvened at 3:00 or 15 following House adjournment today in Room 414.

Chairman Weisgram reconvened House Commerce and Energy Committee.

HB 1243: extend deadlines for action by the Public Utilities Commission upon the request of any party.

Presented by: Representative Karla Lems (Handout(s) 6) Proponents: Joy Hohn, Self, Hartford (Handout(s) 7)

Jeremiah M. Murphy, Landowners for Eminent Domain Reform, Omaha, NE Jeremiah M. Murphy, South Dakota Stockgrowers Association, Rapid City

Guy W Larson, South Dakota Chapter of Sierra Club, Vermillion

Linda Dansman Nickels, self, Hartford (Handout(s) 8) John Schmidt, Self, Woonsocket (Handout(s) 9) Mitch Richter, South Dakota Farmers Union, Huron

Anthony Ventura, self, Hudson

Chase Jensen, Dakota Rural Action, Brookings

Opponents: Steve Willard, South Dakota Electric Utility Companies, Pierre

Brett Koenecke, Avangrid Renewables LLC, Portland, OR

William M. Van Camp, NextEra Energy Resources, Juno Beach, FL Darla Pollman Rogers, South Dakota Rural Electric Association, Pierre

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1243

Moved by: Krohmer Second by: Mulally

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (5-8-0-0)

Voting Yes: Donnell, Krohmer, Mulally, Nelson, and Perry

Voting No: Arlint, Bahmuller, Callies, Duffy, Pinnow, Schneider, Shorma, and Weisgram

MOTION: DEFER HB 1243 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Schneider Second by: Duffy

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-5-0-0)

Voting Yes: Arlint, Bahmuller, Callies, Duffy, Pinnow, Schneider, Shorma, and Weisgram

Voting No: Donnell, Krohmer, Mulally, Nelson, and Perry

HB 1256: establish percentage requirements for voluntary agreements governing pipeline construction prior to the filing of a petition for condemnation.

Presented by: Representative John Sjaarda

Proponents: Jeremiah M. Murphy, Landowners for Eminent Domain Reform, Omaha, NE

Jeremiah M. Murphy, South Dakota Stockgrowers Association, Rapid City

Chase Jensen, Dakota Rural Action, Brookings

Anthony Ventura, self, Hudson Joy Hohn, Self, Hartford

Guy W Larson, South Dakota Chapter of Sierra Club, Vermillion

Chuck Dubbe, self, Hartford

Opponents: John Schmidt, Self, Woonsocket

William M. Van Camp, Ringneck Energy, Onida Justin Bell, Summit Carbon Solutions, Ames, IA Pamela A. Bonrud, NorthWestern Energy, Sioux Falls

Samuel J.Nelson, Missouri River Energy Services, Sioux Falls

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1256

Moved by: Krohmer Second by: Mulally

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (4-9-0-0)

Voting Yes: Donnell, Krohmer, Mulally, and Perry

Voting No: Arlint, Bahmuller, Callies, Duffy, Nelson, Pinnow, Schneider, Shorma, and

Weisgram

MOTION: DEFER HB 1256 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Arlint Second by: Pinnow

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-4-0-0)

Voting Yes: Arlint, Bahmuller, Callies, Duffy, Nelson, Pinnow, Schneider, Shorma, and

Weisgram

Voting No: Donnell, Krohmer, Mulally, and Perry

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Nelson Second by: Perry

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Jean Denton, Committee Secretary

/s/ MIKE WEISGRAM Mike Weisgram, Chair