Committee: Senate Commerce and Energy Thursday, February 08, 2024 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Crabtree, Sen. Hoffman, Sen. Johnson, Sen. Kolbeck (Steve),

Sen. Nesiba, Sen. Schoenbeck, Sen. Stalzer, Sen. Beal, and Sen. Wheeler

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Wheeler

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 06TH

Moved by: Nesiba Second by: Beal

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: TO INVOKE RULE 7-1.5. CONSIDERATION OF MATTERS NOT POSTED.

Moved by: Kolbeck (Steve)

Second by: Crabtree

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

TIMOTHY DONOHUE OF MINNEHAHA COUNTY, SIOUX FALLS, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE SOUTH DAKOTA LOTTERY COMMISSION

Presented by: Norman Lingle, Department of Revenue

MOTION: THAT THE SENATE ADVISE AND CONSENT TO THE APPOINTMENT OF

TIMOTHY DONOHUE OF MINNEHAHA COUNTY, SIOUX FALLS, SOUTH

DAKOTA, TO THE SOUTH DAKOTA LOTTERY COMMISSION

Moved by: Schoenbeck

Second by: Beal

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Crabtree, Hoffman, Johnson, Kolbeck (Steve), Nesiba, Schoenbeck, Stalzer,

Beal, and Wheeler

STEVEN HARDING OF HUGHES COUNTY, PIERRE, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE SOUTH DAKOTA LOTTERY COMMISSION

Presented by: Norman Lingle, Department of Revenue

MOTION: THAT THE SENATE ADVISE AND CONSENT TO THE APPOINTMENT OF

STEVEN HARDING OF HUGHES COUNTY, PIERRE, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO

THE SOUTH DAKOTA LOTTERY COMMISSION

Moved by: Kolbeck (Steve)

Second by: Beal

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Crabtree, Hoffman, Johnson, Kolbeck (Steve), Nesiba, Schoenbeck, Stalzer,

Beal, and Wheeler

JOSEPH KAFKA OF LINCOLN COUNTY, SIOUX FALLS, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE SOUTH DAKOTA LOTTERY COMMISSION

Presented by: Norman Lingle, Department of Revenue

MOTION: THAT THE SENATE ADVISE AND CONSENT TO THE REAPPOINTMENT

OF JOSEPH KAFKA OF LINCOLN COUNTY, SIOUX FALLS, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE SOUTH DAKOTA LOTTERY COMMISSION

Moved by: Kolbeck (Steve)

Second by: Beal

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Crabtree, Hoffman, Johnson, Kolbeck (Steve), Nesiba, Schoenbeck, Stalzer,

Beal, and Wheeler

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED THE APPOINTMENT OF JOSEPH KAFKA OF LINCOLN COUNTY, SIOUX FALLS, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE SOUTH DAKOTA LOTTERY COMMISSION AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

TONA ROZUM OF DAVISON COUNTY, MITCHELL, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE SOUTH DAKOTA LOTTERY COMMISSION

Presented by: Norman Lingle, Department of Revenue

MOTION: THAT THE SENATE ADVISE AND CONSENT TO THE REAPPOINTMENT OF TONA ROZUM OF DAVISON COUNTY, MITCHELL, SOUTH DAKOTA,

TO THE SOUTH DAKOTA LOTTERY COMMISSION

Moved by: Kolbeck (Steve)

Second by: Crabtree

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Crabtree, Hoffman, Johnson, Kolbeck (Steve), Nesiba, Schoenbeck, Stalzer,

Beal, and Wheeler

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED THE APPOINTMENT OF TONA ROZUM OF DAVISON COUNTY, MITCHELL, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE SOUTH DAKOTA LOTTERY COMMISSION AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

SB 208: reduce the employer's investment fee rate.

Presented by: Senator Ryan Maher (Handout(s) 1)

Proponents: Representative Chris Karr

Opponents: Chris Schilken, Governor's Office of Economic Development

Julie M. Johnson, Aberdeen Development Corporation, Aberdeen

Julie M. Johnson, self, Aberdeen, SD

Grace Beck, South Dakota Board of Technical Education, Pierre

Mike Headley, SD Science & Technology Authority

Michael Lee Bockorny, Economic Dev. Professionals Association, Aberdeen

Sam Nelson, South Dakota Municipal League, Canton

Debra Owen, South Dakota Chamber of Commerce & Industry, Pierre

Doug Abraham, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre

Garth Wadsworth, Elevate Rapid City, Rapid City

Mitch Rave, Greater Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce, Sioux Falls

Others: Travis Dovre, Governor's Office of Economic Development

MOTION: DO PASS SB 208

Moved by: Schoenbeck Second by: Hoffman

Action: Was not acted on.

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DEFER SB 208 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE

DAY

Moved by: Kolbeck (Steve)

Second by: Beal

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (5-4-0-0)

Voting Yes: Crabtree, Kolbeck (Steve), Stalzer, Beal, and Wheeler

Voting No: Hoffman, Johnson, Nesiba, and Schoenbeck

SB 217: require disclosure of certain information prior to the sale of property

bound by a homeowners' association.

Presented by: Senator Michael Rohl

MOTION: DEFER SB 217 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Hoffman Second by: Crabtree

Action: Was not acted on.

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DO PASS SB 217

Moved by: Nesiba

Second by: Kolbeck (Steve)

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (5-4-0-0)

Voting Yes: Kolbeck (Steve), Nesiba, Stalzer, Beal, and Wheeler

Voting No: Crabtree, Hoffman, Johnson, and Schoenbeck

Chair Wheeler passed the gavel to Vice Chair Beal.

SCR 603 : Opposing the adoption and development of a central bank digital currency.

Presented by: Senator David Wheeler

Proponents: Karlton Adam, South Dakota Bankers Association, Pierre

Nathan Sanderson, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre

Vice Chair Beal passed the gavel back to Chair Wheeler.

MOTION: ADOPT RESOLUTION SCR 603

Moved by: Crabtree Second by: Schoenbeck

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-1-0-0)

Voting Yes: Crabtree, Hoffman, Johnson, Kolbeck (Steve), Schoenbeck, Stalzer, Beal, and

Wheeler

Voting No: Nesiba

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Schoenbeck

Second by: Beal

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Susan Gullickson, Committee Secretary

/s/ DAVID WHEELER
David Wheeler, Chair