Committee: Senate Agriculture and Natural Resources Thursday, February 08, 2024 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Klumb, Sen. Larson, Sen. Mehlhaff, Sen. Novstrup, Sen. Tobin, Sen. Deibert, and Sen. Otten (Herman)

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Otten (Herman)

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 06TH

Moved by:	Klumb
Second by:	Deibert
Action:	Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1145 : modify brand registration and use laws.

Presented by: Representative Gary Cammack

Proponents: Hunter Roberts, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources Debbie Trapp, South Dakota Brand Board Taya Runyan, South Dakota Cattlemen's Association, Pierre Matthew M Bogue, South Dakota Farm Bureau Federation, Huron Mitch Richter, South Dakota Farmers Union, Huron

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1145

Moved	by:	Klumb
-------	-----	-------

Second by: Tobin

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Klumb, Larson, Mehlhaff, Novstrup, Tobin, Deibert, and Otten (Herman)

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1145 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

SB 215 : prohibit the intentional release of polluting emissions into the atmosphere by cloud seeding, weather modification, excessive electromagnetic radio frequency and microwave radiation and providing enforcement and penalties for violations.

Presented by: Senator Tom Pischke (Handout(s) Handouts 1, 2 and 3)
Proponents: Nicole Braithwait, Spearfish, Self Joshua Randall, Aberdeen, Self Jolie Diane, Zero Geo Engineering, Washington, DC, Self (Handout(s) Handout #4)
Opponents: Kyrik Rombough, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources

MOTION: DEFER SB 215 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by:	Klumb
Second by:	Tobin
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Klumb, Larson, Mehlhaff, Novstrup, Tobin, Deibert, and Otten (Herman)

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by:KlumbSecond by:LarsonAction:Prevailed by voice vote

Susan Anderson, Committee Secretary

/s/ HERMAN OTTEN Herman Otten, Chair