Committee: Senate Local Government Wednesday, February 07, 2024 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Deibert, Sen. Johnson, Sen. Kolbeck (Steve), Sen. Larson, Sen. Pischke,

Sen. Mehlhaff, and Sen. Reed

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Reed

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF MONDAY, FEBRUARY 05TH

Moved by: Pischke

Second by: Kolbeck (Steve)

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

SB 219: modify provisions related to the control of counties and municipalities over medical marijuana establishments within their jurisdictions.

Presented by: Senator David Wheeler

Proponents: Jeremiah M. Murphy, Cannabis Industry Association of SD, Sioux Falls

David Reiss, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre

MOTION: AMEND SB 219

219A

On page 2, line 19, of the Introduced bill, after "operate" insert " a single establishment location"

Moved by: Deibert

Second by: Kolbeck (Steve)

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: DO PASS SB 219 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Pischke

Second by: Kolbeck (Steve)

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Deibert, Johnson, Kolbeck (Steve), Pischke, Mehlhaff, and Reed

Excused: Larson

HB 1127: modify requirements for incorporating municipalities that are within three miles of another incorporated municipality.

Presented by: Senator David Johnson

Proponents: Representative Gary Cammack

Katie Sieverding, Dakota Cable Solutions Inc, Black Hawk

Jesse Lewis, Self, Black Hawk

Justin Bell, TWC Construction Inc., BLACK HAWK (Handout(s) 1) Trevor Johnson, South Dakota Trucking Association, Sioux Falls

Opponents: David Reiss, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre

Melanie Torno, Mayor of Summerset, Self, Summerset (Handout(s) 2)
Lisa Schieffer, City Administrator, Self, Summerset (Handout(s) 3)
Eric Erickson, South Dakota Association of County Commissioners, Pierre

Larry A. Nelson, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1127

Moved by: Kolbeck (Steve)

Second by: Mehlhaff

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (5-2-0-0)

Voting Yes: Johnson, Kolbeck (Steve), Larson, Pischke, and Mehlhaff

Voting No: Deibert and Reed

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Kolbeck (Steve)

Second by: Larson

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Susan Gullickson, Committee Secretary

/s/ TIM REED Tim Reed, Chair