Committee: House State Affairs Wednesday, February 07, 2024 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Bartels, Rep. Blare, Rep. Cammack, Rep. Chaffee, Rep. Chase,

Rep. Drury, Rep. Hansen, Rep. Healy, Rep. Reimer, Rep. Wangsness,

Rep. Rehfeldt, and Rep. Mortenson

Excused: Rep. Lesmeister

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

## The meeting was called to order by Representative Mortenson

**MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF MONDAY, FEBRUARY 05<sup>TH</sup>

Moved by: Chase Second by: Chaffee

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1199: repeal certain provisions of the Uniform Commercial Code.

Presented by: Representative Julie Auch

Proponents: Don R. Grande, WallBuilders' Pro-Family Legislative Network, Aledo, TX

Opponents: Brett Koenecke, South Dakota Bankers Association, Pierre

Nathan Sanderson, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre

David Owen, South Dakota Chamber of Commerce & Industry, Pierre Justin G. Smith, Sioux Falls Area Chamber of Commerce, Sioux Falls Samuel J. Nelson, Economic Dev. Professionals Association, Aberdeen

Others: Benjamin Orzeske, Uniform Law Commission, Self, Chicago, IL

## **MOTION:** DEFER HB 1199 TO THE 41<sup>ST</sup> LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Chase Second by: Blare

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-1-1-0)

Voting Yes: Bartels, Blare, Cammack, Chaffee, Chase, Drury, Healy, Reimer, Wangsness,

Rehfeldt, and Mortenson

Voting No: Hansen

Excused: Lesmeister

## HCR 6008: opposing an initiated measure to place the right to an abortion in the Constitution of South Dakota.

Presented by: Representative Gary Cammack

Proponents: Dale Allen Bartscher, South Dakota Right to Life, Rapid City

Dr. Patty Giebink, self, Chamberlain

Michael G. Pauley, South Dakota Catholic Conference, Rapid City

Debbie Pease, SD Family Voice Action, Rapid City

Opponents: Rick Weiland, self, Sioux Falls (Handout(s) #1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8)

Jim Leach, self, Rapid City

Katherine Degan, self, Sioux Falls

**MOTION:** ADOPT RESOLUTION HCR 6008

Moved by: Rehfeldt Second by: Reimer

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-1-1-0)

Voting Yes: Bartels, Blare, Cammack, Chaffee, Chase, Drury, Hansen, Reimer,

Wangsness, Rehfeldt, and Mortenson

Voting No: Healy

Excused: Lesmeister

## THE CHAIR DEFERRED HB 1188, 1189, AND 1239, AND HJR 5002 UNTIL FEBRUARY 8TH AT 10:00 IN ROOM 413

**MOTION:** ADJOURN

Moved by: Chaffee Second by: Hansen

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Pam Kean, Committee Secretary

/s/ WILL MORTENSON Will Mortenson, Chair