Committee: Senate Agriculture and Natural Resources Tuesday, February 06, 2024 10:00

ΑM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Klumb, Sen. Larson, Sen. Mehlhaff, Sen. Novstrup, Sen. Tobin,

Sen. Deibert, and Sen. Otten (Herman)

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Otten (Herman)

**MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 01<sup>ST</sup>

Moved by: Klumb Second by: Tobin

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MYRON WILLIAMS OF PENNINGTON COUNTY, WALL, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE STATE BRAND BOARD

Presented by: Hunter Roberts, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources

**MOTION:** THAT THE SENATE ADVISE AND CONSENT TO THE REAPPOINTMENT

OF MYRON WILLIAMS OF PENNINGTON COUNTY, WALL, SOUTH

DAKOTA, TO THE STATE BRAND BOARD

Moved by: Klumb Second by: Tobin

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Klumb, Larson, Mehlhaff, Novstrup, Tobin, Deibert, and Otten (Herman)

MOTION: PLACE REAPPOINTMENT ON CONSENT CALENDAR

Moved by: Otten (Herman)

Second by: Deibert

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1128: require a zoning authority to determine that a well is an established well that has not been abandoned in making a permitting decision.

wen that has not been abandoned in making a permitting decision.

Presented by: Representative Randy Gross

Proponents: Hunter Roberts, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources

Matthew M Bogue, South Dakota Farm Bureau Federation, Huron

Angela Ehlers, South Dakota Association of Conservation Districts, Pierre

Brenda Forman, South Dakota Association of Cooperatives, Pierre

Jay Gilbertson, Self, East Dakota Water Development District, Brookings

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1128

Moved by: Klumb Second by: Deibert Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Klumb, Larson, Mehlhaff, Novstrup, Tobin, Deibert, and Otten (Herman)

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1128 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

**MOTION:** ADJOURN

Moved by: Klumb Second by: Mehlhaff

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Susan Anderson, Committee Secretary

/s/ HERMAN OTTEN Herman Otten, Chair