Committee: Senate Commerce and Energy

Tuesday, February 06, 2024 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Crabtree, Sen. Hoffman, Sen. Johnson, Sen. Kolbeck (Steve), Sen. Nesiba, Sen. Schoenbeck, Sen. Stalzer, Sen. Beal, and Sen. Wheeler

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Wheeler

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 01ST

Moved by:	Beal
Second by:	Crabtree
Action:	Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: TO TABLE SB 192

Moved by:	Nesiba
Second by:	Schoenbeck
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Crabtree, Hoffman, Johnson, Nesiba, Schoenbeck, Stalzer, Beal, and Wheeler

Excused: Kolbeck (Steve)

SB 145 : modify the amount of time to report an injury for workers' compensation.

Presented by:	Senator Reynold Nesiba (Handout(s) 1)
Proponents:	James L. Heeren, Teamsters Local 120, Sioux Falls
	Julian Cornelius Beaudion, Sioux Falls NAACP, Sioux Falls
	Kory Rawstern, SD State Federation of Labor AFL-CIO, Sioux Falls
	Grace Gill, American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees,
	Sioux Falls
Opponents:	Doug Abraham, American Property Casualty Insurance Association, Chicago,
	IL
	Justin G. Smith, Sioux Falls Area Chamber of Commerce, Sioux Falls
	Craig Matson, South Dakota Insurance Alliance, Sioux Falls
	David Owen, South Dakota Chamber of Commerce & Industry, Pierre
	William M. Van Camp, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre
	Jason Alan Glodt, National Federation of Independent Business (Washington DC), WA
	Tim Rave, South Dakota Association of Healthcare Organizations, Sioux Falls

MOTION: DEFER SB 145 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Second by: Beal

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-1-0-0)

Voting Yes: Crabtree, Hoffman, Johnson, Kolbeck (Steve), Schoenbeck, Stalzer, Beal, and Wheeler

Voting No: Nesiba

SB 163 : recognize hair discrimination as an unfair or discriminatory practice for employment.

Presented by: Senator Reynold Nesiba (Handout(s) 2)

Proponents: Julian Cornelius Beaudion, Sioux Falls NAACP, Sioux Falls Melissa McCauley, South Dakota for Equality, Sioux Falls

Opponents: William M. Van Camp, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre Debra Owen, South Dakota Chamber of Commerce & Industry, Pierre

MOTION: DEFER SB 163 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by:	Kolbeck	(Steve)
-----------	---------	---------

Second by: Crabtree

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-1-0-0)

Voting Yes: Crabtree, Hoffman, Johnson, Kolbeck (Steve), Schoenbeck, Stalzer, Beal, and Wheeler

Voting No: Nesiba

SB 179 : create provisions for the protection of warehouse distribution center employees.

Presented by: Senator Reynold Nesiba

Proponents: James L. Heeren, Teamsters Local 120, Sioux Falls Mike Rogness, Teamsters Local 120, Moorhead, MN Bryan Lindquist, Teamsters 120, Pierre Kory Rawstern, SD State Federation of Labor AFL-CIO, Sioux Falls
Opponents: William M. Van Camp, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre Justin G. Smith, Sioux Falls Area Chamber of Commerce, Sioux Falls David Owen, South Dakota Chamber of Commerce & Industry, Pierre Jerry McCabe, Department of Labor and Regulation

MOTION: DEFER SB 179 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

	Moved	by:	Stalzer
--	-------	-----	---------

Second by: Kolbeck (Steve)

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-1-0-0)

- Voting Yes: Crabtree, Hoffman, Johnson, Kolbeck (Steve), Schoenbeck, Stalzer, Beal, and Wheeler
- Voting No: Nesiba

SB 190 : require a comparison of reemployment assistance recipients against death records for reemployment assistance eligibility integrity.

Presented by: Senator Steve Kolbeck Proponents: T.J. Nelson, Opportunity Solutions Project, Tallahassee, FL

MOTION: AMEND SB 190

190A

On page 1, line 13, of the Introduced bill, after "Health" delete ", the social security death index," Moved by: Crabtree Second by: Stalzer Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: DO PASS SB 190 AS AMENDED

Moved by:	Hoffman
Second by:	Schoenbeck
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-0-1-0)
Voting Yes:	Hoffman, Johnson, Kolbeck (Steve), Nesiba, Schoenbeck, S

Voting Yes: Hoffman, Johnson, Kolbeck (Steve), Nesiba, Schoenbeck, Stalzer, Beal, and Wheeler

Excused: Crabtree

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 190 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by:Kolbeck (Steve)Second by:BealAction:Prevailed by voice vote

Susan Gullickson, Committee Secretary

/s/ DAVID WHEELER David Wheeler, Chair