Committee: Senate State Affairs Friday, February 02, 2024 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Schoenbeck, Sen. Davis, Sen. Duhamel, Sen. Nesiba, Sen. Rohl,

Sen. Tobin, Sen. Deibert, Sen. Wheeler, and Sen. Crabtree

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Crabtree

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 31ST

Moved by: Rohl Second by: Tobin

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

SB 134: make an appropriation to create the healthy forest critical infrastructure relief and grant program and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Senator Randy Deibert (Handout(s) 1)
Proponents: Senator David Johnson (Handout(s) 2,3)

Representative Mike Derby

Doug Abraham, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre Ben Wudtke, Black Hills Forest Resource Association, Rapid City

Ron Rossknecht, Self, Sheridan

Roger A. Tellinghuisen, Deadwood Gaming Association, Deadwood

David Reiss, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre

Garth Wadsworth, Elevate Rapid City, Rapid City

Craig Matson, Deadwood Lead Economic Development Corporation, Deadwood

John Senden, Self, Spearfish Robert Christian, Self, Spearfish

Opponents: Jim Terwilliger, Bureau of Finance and Management

Guy W Larson, South Dakota Chapter of Sierra Club, Vermillion

Paul Lepisto, SD Division of the Izaak Walton League of America, North Sioux

City

Others: Matthew Konenkamp, Neiman Enterprises Inc., Spearfish

MOTION: REFER SB 134 TO JOINT COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS DO PASS

Moved by: Duhamel Second by: Tobin

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Schoenbeck, Davis, Duhamel, Rohl, Tobin, Deibert, Wheeler, and Crabtree

Excused: Nesiba

SB 160: rename South Scalp Creek Lakeside Use Area in Gregory County.

MOTION: DEFER SB 160 UNTIL MONDAY, FEBRUARY 05TH, 2024

SB 185: require members of the Legislature and staff of the Legislative

Research to attend a course on Indian law.

Presented by: Senator Shawn Bordeaux

MOTION: DEFER SB 185 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Wheeler Second by: Tobin

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Schoenbeck, Davis, Duhamel, Rohl, Tobin, Deibert, Wheeler, and Crabtree

Excused: Nesiba

SB 186: modify provisions pertaining to the voting rights of members of an

Indian tribe.

MOTION: DEFER SB 186 UNTIL MONDAY, FEBRUARY 05TH, 2024

SB 182: repeal and revise certain provisions regarding the petition circulation

process to comply with federal court decisions.

Presented by: Senator David Wheeler

MOTION: DO PASS SB 182

Moved by: Schoenbeck

Second by: Rohl

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Schoenbeck, Davis, Duhamel, Rohl, Tobin, Deibert, Wheeler, and Crabtree

Excused: Nesiba

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 182 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

SJR 504: Proposing and submitting to the voters at the next general election an amendment to the Constitution of the State of South Dakota revising the process by which a legislative vacancy is filled.

Presented by: Senator Brent "B.R." Hoffman

Opponents: Roger A. Tellinghuisen, South Dakota Association of County Officials, Pierre

MOTION: DEFER SJR 504 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Rohl

Friday, February 02, 2024 10:00 AM

Second by: Tobin

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-2-0-0)

Voting Yes: Davis, Duhamel, Rohl, Tobin, Deibert, Wheeler, and Crabtree

Voting No: Schoenbeck and Nesiba

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Rohl Second by: Nesiba

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Doug Mortenson, Committee Secretary

/s/ CASEY CRABTREE
Casey Crabtree, Chair