Committee: Senate Health and Human Services

Friday, February 02, 2024 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Bordeaux, Sen. Hoffman, Sen. Novstrup, Sen. Reed, Sen. Davis, and Sen. Tobin Excused: Sen. Rohl

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Tobin

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 31ST

Moved by: Reed Second by: Bordeaux Action: Prevailed by voice vote

THE CHAIR DEFERRED HB 1029 UNTIL MONDAY, FEBRUARY 05[™] 2024

SCR 602 : To analyze and report information on the healthcare workforce in South Dakota.

Presented by: Senator Jean Hunhoff

Proponents: Mark B. Deak, South Dakota Health Care Association, Sioux Falls Jacob Parsons, South Dakota Association of Healthcare Organizations, Sioux Falls Deb Fischer-Clemens, Presentation Sisters of Aberdeen, Aberdeen Cate Davis, Avera Health, Sioux Falls Ally Brandner, Sanford Health, Sioux Falls

MOTION: ADOPT RESOLUTION SCR 602

Moved by:	Reed
Second by:	Bordeaux
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Bordeaux, Hoffman, Novstrup, Reed, Davis, and Tobin

Excused: Rohl

HB 1027 : modify substances listed on the controlled substances schedule and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Lynne Valenti, Department of Health (Handout(s) 1)

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1027

Moved by:	Davis
Second by:	Reed
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Bordeaux, Hoffman, Novstrup, Reed, Davis, and Tobin

Excused: Rohl

HB 1028 : classify xylazine as a Schedule III controlled substance, establish permissible uses, and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Melissa Magstadt, Department of Health Proponents: Marty Jackley, Attorney General, Pierre Jennifer Stalley, South Dakota Veterinary Medical Association, Brookings

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1028

Moved by:	Davis
Second by:	Bordeaux
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Bordeaux, Hoffman, Novstrup, Reed, Davis, and Tobin

Excused: Rohl

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by:DavisSecond by:HoffmanAction:Prevailed by voice vote

Mary Kirk, Committee Secretary

/s/ ERIN TOBIN Erin Tobin, Chair