Committee: House Health and Human Services Tuesday, January 30, 2024 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Cammack, Rep. Deutsch, Rep. Donnell, Rep. Healy, Rep. Heermann,

Rep. Kull, Rep. Moore, Rep. Mulder, Rep. Nelson, Rep. Schaefbauer,

Rep. Weisgram, Rep. Rehfeldt, and Rep. Jensen (Kevin)

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Jensen (Kevin)

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, JANUARY 25TH

Moved by: Healy Second by: Rehfeldt

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1098: provide free birth certificates to persons experiencing homelessness.

Presented by: Representative Tyler Tordsen

Proponents: Garth Wadsworth, Elevate Rapid City, Rapid City

Yvonne Taylor, SD Advocacy Network for Women, Sioux Falls

Dianna Miller, South Dakota Network Against Family Violence, Sioux Falls

Deb Fischer-Clemens, Presentation Sisters of Aberdeen, Aberdeen

Melissa McCauley, South Dakota for Equality, Sioux Falls

Terrance Lee Dosch, South Dakota Council of Community Behavioral Health,

Pierre

Others: Melissa Magstadt, Department of Health

MOTION: AMEND HB 1098

1098A

On page 1, line 5, of the Introduced bill, after "person's " insert "South Dakota "

Moved by: Deutsch Second by: Rehfeldt

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: AMEND HB 1098

Moved by: Schaefbauer Second by: Rehfeldt Action: Withdrawn

MOTION: AMEND HB 1098

1098B

On page 1, line 15, of the Introduced bill, after "a" delete " food bank,"

Moved by: Schaefbauer Second by: Rehfeldt

Action: Withdrawn

MOTION: REFER HB 1098 TO HOUSE COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS DO

PASS AS AMENDED

Moved by: Rehfeldt Second by: Mulder

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Cammack, Deutsch, Donnell, Healy, Heermann, Kull, Moore, Mulder, Nelson,

Schaefbauer, Weisgram, Rehfeldt, and Jensen (Kevin)

HB 1131: waive certain fees for nondriver identification cards for individuals who are homeless.

Presented by: Representative Kadyn Wittman
Proponents: Anny Libengood, self, Sioux Falls
Julie Becker, self, Sioux Falls

Deb Fischer-Clemens, Presentation Sisters of Aberdeen, Aberdeen Yvonne Taylor, SD Advocacy Network for Women, Sioux Falls Tamara R Grove, Protecting South Dakota Kids Inc., Rapid City

Melissa McCauley, South Dakota for Equality, Sioux Falls

Terrance Lee Dosch, South Dakota Council of Community Behavioral Health,

Pierre

Opponents: John Broers, Department of Public Safety

MOTION: AMEND HB 1131

1131A

On page 1, line 5, of the Introduced bill, after "fee" insert " one-time" On page 1, line 7, of the Introduced bill, after "submit" delete " a letter"

On page 1, line 8, of the Introduced bill, after "application, " insert "an affidavit " On page 1, line 9, of the Introduced bill, delete " letter" and insert " affidavit"

Moved by: Deutsch Second by: Rehfeldt

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: REFER HB 1131 TO HOUSE COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS DO

PASS AS AMENDED

Moved by: Healy Second by: Nelson

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Cammack, Deutsch, Donnell, Healy, Heermann, Kull, Moore, Mulder, Nelson,

Schaefbauer, Weisgram, Rehfeldt, and Jensen (Kevin)

HB 1125: prohibit the chemical modification or conversion of industrial hemp and the sale or distribution of chemically modified or converted industrial hemp and to provide a penalty therefor.

Presented by: Representative Brian Mulder (Handout(s) #1,2)

Proponents: Richard Tieszen, South Dakota Sheriffs Association, Eureka (Handout(s) #3)

Melissa Magstadt, Department of Health

Yvonne Taylor, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre

Jenna R. Severyn, South Dakota Police Chiefs Association, Fort Pierre

Tamara R Grove, Protecting South Dakota Kids Inc., Rapid City

Opponents: Caleb Rose, self, Rapid City (Handout(s) #4)

Others: Tim Southern, Department of Health

Derek Schiefelbein, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1125

Moved by: Deutsch Second by: Schaefbauer

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-2-0-0)

Voting Yes: Cammack, Deutsch, Donnell, Heermann, Kull, Moore, Mulder, Schaefbauer,

Weisgram, Rehfeldt, and Jensen (Kevin)

Voting No: Healy and Nelson

THE CHAIR DEFERRED SB 87 UNTIL THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 1ST, 2024

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Weisgram Second by: Heermann

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Pam Kean, Committee Secretary

/s/ KEVIN D. JENSEN Kevin D. Jensen, Chair