South Dakota Legislature

House Commemoration 8005

Introduced by: **Representatives** Reisch, Blare, Callies, Chase, Fitzgerald, Jensen (Phil), Koth, Kull, Massie, Mills, Moore, Mortenson, Otten (Ernie), Perry, Peterson (Sue), Pinnow, Reimer, Schaefbauer, Stevens, Teunissen, Tordsen, Venhuizen, and Weisgram and **Senators** Crabtree, Bolin, Duhamel, Hunhoff, Johnson, Mehlhaff, Novstrup, Otten (Herman), Pischke, Reed, Schoenbeck, Stalzer, and Zikmund

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Recognizing and celebrating the De Smet Bulldogs as the 2021, 2022, and 2023 Class B boys' basketball state champions.

WHEREAS, the 2020-2021 season marked the beginning of an impressive legacy for the De Smet Bulldogs basketball team under the leadership of coach Jeff Gruenhagen. Sporting a strong defense, the team held their opponents to an average of forty points per game and entered the Class B state tournament with a record of 22-1. The Bulldogs powered their way to the championship, and ultimately defeated Aberdeen Christian 59-43; and

WHEREAS, in the 2021-2022 season, the Bulldogs won their first two games of the state championship tournament with scores of 60-28 and 67-45 and ultimately reached the championship against a formidable Lower Brule team. After starting the game slowly, the Bulldogs dominated the second half and defended their championship crown with a 49-26 victory; and

WHEREAS, in 2022-2023, the Bulldogs held their opponents to an average of forty points per game throughout the season, ending the season with a record of 20-3. The Bulldogs won the first two games of the championship tournament, defeating Viborg-Hurley 51-47 and Aberdeen Christian 46-31, to earn their third consecutive appearance in the state championship game, where they defeated top-seeded Lower Brule by a convincing score of 62-48 to again claim the Class B championship title:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Ninety-Ninth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that the De Smet boys' basketball team has won three consecutive state basketball championship tournaments and is the 2023 Class B boys' basketball state champion.