Committee: House Local Government Tuesday, January 30, 2024 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Ladner, Rep. Jamison, Rep. Overweg, Rep. Wittman, Rep. Aylward,

Rep. Auch, Rep. Bahmuller, Rep. Lems, Rep. Peterson (Sue), Rep. Sjaarda,

Rep. Callies, Rep. Fitzgerald, and Rep. Drury

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

## The meeting was called to order by Representative Drury

**MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, JANUARY 25<sup>TH</sup>

Moved by: Sjaarda Second by: Fitzgerald

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

## HB 1127: modify requirements for incorporating municipalities that are within three miles of another incorporated municipality.

Presented by: Representative Gary Cammack

Proponents: Katie Sieverding, Dakota Cable Solutions Inc, Black Hawk

Jesse Lewis, Self, Black Hawk

Opponents: David Reiss, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre

Melanie Torno, Mayor of Summerset, Self, Summerset Lisa Schieffer, City Administrator, Self, Summerset

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1127

Moved by: Overweg Second by: Auch

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-1-0-0)

Voting Yes: Ladner, Jamison, Overweg, Aylward, Auch, Bahmuller, Lems, Peterson (Sue),

Sjaarda, Callies, Fitzgerald, and Drury

Voting No: Wittman

## HB 1132: revise certain provisions pertaining to municipal government.

Presented by: Representative Becky Drury

Proponents: Yvonne Taylor, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre

MOTION: AMEND HB 1132

1132A

On page 2, line 28, of the Introduced bill, delete "The South Dakota Department of Transportation

shall promulgate rules, pursuant to chapter 1-26, establishing the process by which

the department or the" and insert "The"

On page 2, line 30, of the Introduced bill, delete " 7" and insert " 6"

Moved by: Wittman

Second by: Aylward

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

**MOTION:** DO PASS HB 1132 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Callies Second by: Jamison

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-1-1-0)

Voting Yes: Ladner, Jamison, Overweg, Wittman, Aylward, Auch, Bahmuller, Sjaarda,

Callies, Fitzgerald, and Drury

Voting No: Lems

Excused: Peterson (Sue)

**MOTION:** ADJOURN

Moved by: Bahmuller Second by: Wittman

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

James Sapp, Committee Secretary

/s/ BECKY J. DRURY Becky J. Drury, Chair