Committee: Senate State Affairs Monday, January 29, 2024 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Schoenbeck, Sen. Duhamel, Sen. Nesiba, Sen. Rohl, Sen. Tobin,

Sen. Deibert, Sen. Wheeler, and Sen. Crabtree

Excused: Sen. Davis

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Crabtree

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 24TH

Moved by: Nesiba Second by: Tobin

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

SB 113: establish the state flag design commission.

Presented by: Senator Reynold Nesiba (Handout(s) 1)

Proponents: Ryan Schultz, Self, Sioux Falls

Zach DeBor, Self, Sioux Falls

MOTION: DEFER SB 113 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Wheeler Second by: Tobin

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (5-3-1-0)

Voting Yes: Schoenbeck, Tobin, Deibert, Wheeler, and Crabtree

Voting No: Duhamel, Nesiba, and Rohl

Excused: Davis

SB 119: permit the use of tribal identification cards when registering to vote.

THE CHAIR DEFERRED SB 119 UNTIL JAN 31ST

SB 123: require the state board of elections to meet annually to review the state's election law and recommend changes if necessary.

Presented by: Senator Reynold Nesiba

Proponents: Thomas Deadrick, Deputy Secretary of State

Yvonne Taylor, SD Advocacy Network for Women, Sioux Falls T.J. Nelson, Opportunity Solutions Project, Tallahassee, FL

MOTION: DO PASS SB 123

Moved by: Nesiba Second by: Schoenbeck

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-2-0)

Voting Yes: Schoenbeck, Duhamel, Nesiba, Rohl, Tobin, Wheeler, and Crabtree

Excused: Davis and Deibert

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 123 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

SB 120: provide an additional basis for the Interim Rules Review Committee to revert a proposed administrative rule.

Presented by: Senator Herman Otten

MOTION: DO PASS SB 120

Moved by: Schoenbeck

Second by: Rohl

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (5-2-2-0)

Voting Yes: Schoenbeck, Duhamel, Rohl, Tobin, and Crabtree

Voting No: Nesiba and Wheeler

Excused: Davis and Deibert

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Rohl Second by: Duhamel

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Doug Mortenson, Committee Secretary

/s/ CASEY CRABTREE Casey Crabtree, Chair