Committee: House Commerce and Energy Wednesday, January 24, 2024 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Arlint, Rep. Bahmuller, Rep. Callies, Rep. Donnell, Rep. Duffy,

Rep. Krohmer, Rep. Mulally, Rep. Nelson, Rep. Pinnow, Rep. Schneider,

Rep. Shorma, Rep. Perry, and Rep. Weisgram

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Weisgram

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF MONDAY, JANUARY 22ND

Moved by: Schneider Second by: Krohmer

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1095: establish provisions for the operation of automated motor vehicles.

Presented by: Representative Roger Chase (Handout(s) 1)

Proponents: William M. Van Camp, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre (Handout(s)

2)

Rich Steiner, self, Gatik

Christine Vinateri-Erickson, South Dakota Trucking Association, Sioux Falls

T.J. Nelson, Alliance for Automotive Innovation, WA David Reiss, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre Nathan Sanderson, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre

Nathan Sanderson, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pier

Opponents: Representative Marty Overweg (Handout(s) 3)

James L. Heeren, Teamsters Local 120, Sioux Falls

MOTION: DEFER HB 1095 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Krohmer Second by: Mulally

Action: Was not acted on.

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DO PASS HB 1095

Moved by: Schneider Second by: Donnell

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (10-3-0-0)

Voting Yes: Arlint, Bahmuller, Callies, Donnell, Duffy, Pinnow, Schneider, Shorma, Perry,

and Weisgram

Voting No: Krohmer, Mulally, and Nelson

SB 38 : amend the amount a merchant or place of business may assess against returned checks.

Presented by: Representative Lynn Schneider

Proponents: William M. Van Camp, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre

Others: Nathan Sanderson, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre

MOTION: DO PASS SB 38

Moved by: Perry Second by: Duffy

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-1-0-0)

Voting Yes: Arlint, Bahmuller, Callies, Donnell, Duffy, Krohmer, Mulally, Nelson, Pinnow,

Schneider, Perry, and Weisgram

Voting No: Shorma

SB 41: modify an administrative procedure for revoking a nonresponsive insurance producer's license.

Presented by: Travis Jordan, Department of Labor and Regulation

MOTION: DO PASS SB 41

Moved by: Arlint Second by: Krohmer

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-1-0-0)

Voting Yes: Arlint, Bahmuller, Callies, Donnell, Duffy, Krohmer, Nelson, Pinnow,

Schneider, Shorma, Perry, and Weisgram

Voting No: Mulally

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Krohmer Second by: Shorma

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Jean Denton, Committee Secretary

/s/ MIKE WEISGRAM Mike Weisgram, Chair