Committee: Senate State Affairs Monday, January 22, 2024 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Schoenbeck, Sen. Davis, Sen. Duhamel, Sen. Nesiba, Sen. Rohl,

Sen. Tobin, Sen. Deibert, Sen. Wheeler, and Sen. Crabtree

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

## The meeting was called to order by Senator Crabtree

**MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF FRIDAY, JANUARY 19<sup>TH</sup>

Moved by: Tobin Second by: Duhamel

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Senator Crabtree announced that HB1041 was reassigned to the Senate Committee of Commerce and Energy.

HB 1005: revise the manner of citing the Administrative Rules of South Dakota.

Presented by: Senator Jean Hunhoff

**MOTION: DO PASS HB 1005** 

Moved by: Wheeler Second by: Schoenbeck

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Schoenbeck, Davis, Duhamel, Nesiba, Rohl, Tobin, Deibert, Wheeler, and

Crabtree

## HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1005 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

HB 1006: increase the amount of time permitted the Interim Rules Review Committee to review final permanent rulemaking materials.

Presented by: Senator Jean Hunhoff

**MOTION:** DO PASS HB 1006

Moved by: Wheeler Second by: Deibert

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Schoenbeck, Davis, Duhamel, Nesiba, Rohl, Tobin, Deibert, Wheeler, and

Crabtree

## HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1006 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

**HB 1011:** revise the membership of the South Dakota Capitol Complex Restoration and Beautification Commission.

Presented by: Senator Jim Bolin

Proponents: Representative Will Mortenson

Opponents: Steve Harding, City of Pierre, Pierre (Handout(s) #1)

**MOTION:** DO PASS HB 1011

Moved by: Schoenbeck Second by: Wheeler

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Schoenbeck, Davis, Duhamel, Nesiba, Rohl, Tobin, Wheeler, and Crabtree

Excused: Deibert

**MOTION:** ADJOURN

Moved by: Nesiba Second by: Wheeler

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Pam Kean, Committee Secretary

/s/ CASEY CRABTREE
Casey Crabtree, Chair