99th Legislative Session - 2024

Committee: Senate Agriculture and Natural Resources Tuesday, January 23, 2024 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Klumb, Sen. Larson, Sen. Mehlhaff, Sen. Novstrup, Sen. Deibert, and

Sen. Otten (Herman)

Excused: Sen. Tobin

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Otten (Herman)

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, JANUARY 18TH

Moved by: Klumb Second by: Larson

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1030: update statutory and regulatory references pertaining to water

pollution.

Presented by: Kayla Fawcett, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1030

Moved by: Klumb Second by: Deibert

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Klumb, Larson, Mehlhaff, Novstrup, Deibert, and Otten (Herman)

Excused: Tobin

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1030 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

HB 1031: update the development and implementation of conservation district standards.

Presented by: Paul Lorenzen, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources

Angela Ehlers, South Dakota Association of Conservation Districts, Pierre

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1031

Moved by: Mehlhaff Second by: Deibert

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Klumb, Larson, Mehlhaff, Novstrup, Deibert, and Otten (Herman)

Excused: Tobin

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1031 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

HB 1033: address the administration of State Conservation Commission functions by the Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources.

Presented by: Paul Lorenzen, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources

Angela Ehlers, South Dakota Association of Conservation Districts, Pierre

Opponents: Brian Burgess, Self, Beresford

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1033

Moved by: Larson Second by: Klumb

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Klumb, Larson, Mehlhaff, Novstrup, Deibert, and Otten (Herman)

Excused: Tobin

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Deibert Second by: Larson

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Mary Kirk, Committee Secretary

______/s/ HERMAN OTTEN Herman Otten, Chair