Committee: House Taxation Tuesday, January 23, 2024 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Aylward, Rep. DeGroot, Rep. Duffy, Rep. Jensen (Phil), Rep. Massie,

Rep. May, Rep. Perry, Rep. Peterson (Sue), Rep. Pinnow, Rep. Pourier,

Rep. Randolph, Rep. Jamison, and Rep. Chaffee

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Jamison

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, JANUARY 11<sup>TH</sup>

Chaffee Moved by: Second by: Perrv

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1090: revise provisions related to tax deeds and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Representative Kirk Chaffee

Matthew McCaulley, SD States Attorneys Assn, Harrisburg Proponents:

Michael Houdyshell, Department of Revenue

Roger A. Tellinghuisen, South Dakota Association of County Commissioners,

Pierre

Jim Manley, Pacific Legal Foundation, Phoenix AZ

James Bialota, Self, Rapid City Opponents:

MOTION: **DO PASS HB 1090** 

Moved by: Peterson (Sue)

Second by: Perry

Action: Was not acted on.

**SUBSTITUTE MOTION: AMEND HB 1090 MOTION:** 

1090A

On page 1, line 11, of the Introduced bill, after "sale." delete "Section 2. That chapter 10-25 be amended with a NEW SECTION:

On page 1, line 12, of the Introduced bill, after "SECTION:" delete "Any person, except a county,

acquiring real property by a tax deed after being issued a tax certificate shall offer the property at public auction in accordance with the provisions of chapter 6-13 and section 1 of this Act. The auction must occur within one year of the issuance of the tax deed. Following the sale, the seller of the property is entitled to compensation in the same manner as redemption of a tax certificate pursuant to § 10-24-1. The proceeds

of the sale must be distributed in accordance with § 10-25-39."

Moved by: Jensen (Phil) Second by: Randolph

Failed by voice vote Action:

## Revert to previous motion

House Taxation

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1090

Moved by: Peterson (Sue)

Second by: Perry

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-2-0-0)

Voting Yes: Aylward, DeGroot, Duffy, Massie, May, Perry, Peterson (Sue), Pinnow,

Pourier, Jamison, and Chaffee

Voting No: Jensen (Phil) and Randolph

HB 1092: revise provisions regarding the 911 emergency surcharge.

Presented by: Representative Hugh Bartels

Proponents: Troy Vandusen, Watertown Police Department, Watertown SD

Jenna R. Severyn, South Dakota Police Chiefs Association, FORT PIERRE

Staci Ackerman, South Dakota Sheriffs' Association, Eureka David Reiss, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre

Kris Jacobsen, South Dakota Association of County Commissioners, Pierre

Ted Rufledt, Self, Rapid City Kent Jones, Self, Aberdeen

Others: Michael Houdyshell, Department of Revenue

**MOTION: AMEND HB 1092** 

1092A

On page 1, line 13, of the Introduced bill, after "section." delete "Section 2. That a NEW SECTION be added to chapter 34-45:

On page 1, line 14, of the Introduced bill, after "34-45:" delete "Counties must distribute any moneys

received pursuant to § 34-45-8. 7 to the eligible public safety answering point serving

the county."

Moved by: DeGroot Second by: Aylward

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

**MOTION:** DO PASS HB 1092 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Pinnow Second by: Perry

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-4-0-0)

Voting Yes: DeGroot, Duffy, Massie, Perry, Peterson (Sue), Pinnow, Randolph, Jamison,

and Chaffee

Voting No: Aylward, Jensen (Phil), May, and Pourier

SB 65: modify time limits for collection efforts for debts owed to the state.

Presented by: Anita Fuoss, Bureau of Human Resources and Administration
Others: Megan Howard, Bureau of Human Resources and Administration

MOTION: DO PASS SB 65

Moved by: Chaffee Second by: Pourier

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Aylward, DeGroot, Duffy, Jensen (Phil), Massie, May, Perry, Peterson (Sue),

Pinnow, Pourier, Randolph, Jamison, and Chaffee

HB 1109: eliminate the cap on assessment amounts for road improvements and to allow townships to plan and pay for the paving and maintenance of non-section line roads.

Presented by: Representative David Kull Proponents: Tom Egge, Self, Sioux Falls

Kody R. Kyriss, South Dakota Association of Towns and Townships, Huron

Opponents: Steven Kohler, Bureau of Finance and Management

Others: Wendy Semmler, Department of Revenue

**MOTION:** DO PASS HB 1109

Moved by: Perry

Action: Died for lack of a second

**MOTION:** DEFER HB 1109 TO THE 41<sup>ST</sup> LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Randolph Second by: Chaffee

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-1-0-0)

Voting Yes: Aylward, DeGroot, Duffy, Jensen (Phil), Massie, May, Peterson (Sue), Pinnow,

Pourier, Randolph, Jamison, and Chaffee

Voting No: Perry

**MOTION:** ADJOURN

Moved by: Chaffee Second by: DeGroot

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Madisen Vetter, Committee Secretary

/s/ KIRK CHAFFEE Kirk Chaffee, Chair