Committee: House Judiciary Wednesday, January 17, 2024 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Fitzgerald, Rep. Kull, Rep. Massie, Rep. Odenbach, Rep. Reimer,

Rep. Reisch, Rep. Soye, Rep. St. John, Rep. Teunissen, Rep. Tordsen,

Rep. Stevens, and Rep. Hansen

Excused: Rep. Pourier

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Hansen

TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF FRIDAY, JANUARY 12TH **MOTION:**

Moved by: Stevens Second by: Fitzgerald

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1038: exclude certain habitual DUI offenders from eligibility for presumptive probation.

Presented by: Representative Mary Fitzgerald Grant Flynn, Attorney General Proponents:

Daniel Haggar, Minnehaha

Opponents: Terra Larson, South Dakota Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Rapid

David Whitesock, Self, Potsdam, NY

AMEND HB 1038 MOTION:

1038A

On page 1, line 9, of the Introduced bill, after "24-2-14(1)," delete " 32-23-4, 32-23-4. 6," On page 1, line 11, of the Introduced bill, after "probation" insert ", and any mandatory minimum

sentence under chapter 32-23, as applicable"

Moved by: Stevens Second by: Pourier

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

DO PASS HB 1038 AS AMENDED MOTION:

Moved by: Stevens Second by: Kull

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Fitzgerald, Kull, Massie, Odenbach, Pourier, Reimer, Reisch, Soye, St. John,

Teunissen, Tordsen, Stevens, and Hansen

HB 1046: prohibit the intentional disarming of a law enforcement officer and to provide a penalty therefor.

Presented by: Representative David Kull

Proponents: Matthew McCaulley, South Dakota State's Attorneys Association, Sioux Falls

Daniel Haggar, Minnehaha

Jason Ketterling, Department of Public Safety

Staci Ackerman, South Dakota Sheriffs' Association, Eureka

Jenna R. Severyn, South Dakota Police Chiefs Association, FORT PIERRE

Grant Flynn, Attorney General

Opponents: Terra Larson, South Dakota Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Rapid

City

Steve Siegel, South Dakota Trial Lawyers Associaiton, Pierre

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1046

Moved by: Fitzgerald Second by: Reisch

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-1-0-0)

Voting Yes: Fitzgerald, Kull, Massie, Odenbach, Reimer, Reisch, Soye, St. John,

Teunissen, Tordsen, Stevens, and Hansen

Voting No: Pourier

HB 1047: enhance the penalties for eluding law enforcement.

Presented by: Representative David Kull

Proponents: Matthew McCaulley, South Dakota State's Attorneys Association, Sioux Falls

Daniel Haggar, Minnehaha

Jason Ketterling, Department of Public Safety

Grant Flynn, Attorney General

Staci Ackerman, South Dakota Sheriffs' Association, Eureka

Jenna R. Severyn, South Dakota Police Chiefs Association, FORT PIERRE

Opponents: Terra Larson, South Dakota Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Rapid

City

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1047

Moved by: Fitzgerald Second by: Tordsen

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Fitzgerald, Kull, Massie, Odenbach, Pourier, Reimer, Reisch, Soye, St. John,

Teunissen, Tordsen, Stevens, and Hansen

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1047 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT

CALENDAR.

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Odenbach Second by: Tordsen

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

House Judiciary	Wednesday, January 17, 2024 10:00 AM
Madisen Vetter, Committee Secretary	
	/s/ JON HANSEN Jon Hansen, Chair