Committee: Senate State Affairs

### Roll Call

Present:	Sen. Schoenbeck, Sen. Davis, Sen. Duhamel, Sen. Nesiba, Sen. Rohl,
	Sen. Tobin, Sen. Wheeler, and Sen. Crabtree
Excused:	Sen. Diedrich

**OTHERS PRESENT:** See Original Minutes

#### The meeting was called to order by Senator Crabtree

#### MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF FRIDAY, JANUARY 12<sup>TH</sup>

Moved by: Rohl Second by: Wheeler Action: Prevailed by voice vote

#### SB 20 : establish the crime of threatening or intimidating an election official or election worker and declare an emergency.

Presented by: Thomas Deadrick, Deputy Secretary of State Opponents: Jeff Struwe, Self, Brookings Rick Weible, Self, Elkton Anja Carley, Self, Piedmont Carla Schonzenbeck, Self, Rapid City Cash Anderson, South Dakota Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Rapid City Meta Halverson, Self, Whitewood

#### MOTION: AMEND SB 20

20A

On page 1, line 5, of the Introduced bill, delete "Any" and insert "No"

On page 1, line 5, of the Introduced bill, delete " who" and insert " may"

On page 1, line 5, of the Introduced bill, delete " utters or addresses" and insert " utter or address" On page 1, line 7, of the Introduced bill, delete " is guilty of" and insert ". A violation of this section is"

- On page 1, line 7, of the Introduced bill, after "misdemeanor" insert ", and the court must impose a fine of at least one thousand dollars. A subsequent violation of this section is a Class 6 felonv"

On page 1, line 7, of the Introduced bill, after "misdemeanor." insert "

Any individual convicted of second or subsequent offence under this section must be removed from the voter registration list, pursuant to § 12-4-18, and may not vote in any election held in this state for a period of four years, beginning on the date of the offense.

Any money collected under this section must be deposited in the general fund and expended under the general appropriations act for the purposes of election integrity."

- Moved by: Nesiba
- Second by: Schoenbeck
- Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (1-7-1-0)
- Voting Yes: Nesiba
- Voting No: Schoenbeck, Davis, Duhamel, Rohl, Tobin, Wheeler, and Crabtree

Excused: Diedrich

#### MOTION: DO PASS SB 20

Moved by:	Wheeler
Second by:	Nesiba
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Schoenbeck, Davis, Duhamel, Nesiba, Rohl, Tobin, Wheeler, and Crabtree

Excused: Diedrich

## SB 73 : provide that the presiding officer of the Senate is required to sign each enrolled bill.

Presented by: Senator Lee Schoenbeck Opponents: Ryan Brunner, Governor's Office

#### MOTION: DO PASS SB 73

#### HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 73 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

## SB 53 : make an appropriation for eligible water and wastewater projects and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Andy Bruels, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources

Proponents: Morgan Gruebele, Bureau of Finance and Management Lindsey Riter-Rapp, South Dakota Association of Rural Water Systems, Madison Julie M. Johnson, WEB Water, Aberdeen Paul Lepisto, SD Division of the Izaak Walton League of America, North Sioux City Mitch Rave, Greater Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce, Sioux Falls David Reiss, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre Gregory Powell, Randall Community Water District, Lake Andes

#### MOTION: AMEND SB 53

53A

On page 1, line 4, of the Introduced bill, delete " \$95,384,221" and insert " \$94,384,221" Moved by: Duhamel Second by: Wheeler Action: Prevailed by voice vote

## MOTION: REFER SB 53 TO JOINT COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS AS AMENDED DO PASS

Moved by:	Tobin
Second by:	Rohl
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Schoenbeck, Davis, Duhamel, Nesiba, Rohl, Tobin, Wheeler, and Crabtree

Excused: Diedrich

# SB 66 : make an appropriation for eligible water, wastewater, and storm water projects throughout state government, and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Stacy Watters, Bureau of Human Resources and Administration

Proponents: Paul Lepisto, SD Division of the Izaak Walton League of America, North Sioux City

### **MOTION:** REFER SB 66 TO JOINT COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS DO PASS

Moved by:	Duhamel
Second by:	Tobin
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-0-1-0)

- Voting Yes: Schoenbeck, Davis, Duhamel, Nesiba, Rohl, Tobin, Wheeler, and Crabtree
- Excused: Diedrich

### MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by:RohlSecond by:WheelerAction:Prevailed by voice vote

Doug Mortenson, Committee Secretary

/s/ CASEY CRABTREE Casey Crabtree, Chair