Committee: House State Affairs

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Bartels, Rep. Blare, Rep. Cammack, Rep. Chaffee, Rep. Chase, Rep. Drury, Rep. Hansen, Rep. Healy, Rep. Lesmeister, Rep. Reimer, Rep. Wangsness, Rep. Rehfeldt, and Rep. Mortenson

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Mortenson

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF FRIDAY, JANUARY 12TH

Moved by: Chaffee Second by: Chase Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1009 : modify the observation of time in South Dakota.

Presented by: Representative Ben Krohmer (Handout(s) #1)

Proponents: Linda Montgomery, self, Fairview, SD Opponents: Representative John Sjaarda Senator Julie Frye-Mueller Jay Pea, Save Standard Time, self, Fountain Hills, Arizona

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1009

Moved by:	Lesmeister
Second by:	Hansen
Action:	Was not acted on.

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DEFER HB 1009 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Cammack

- Second by: Chase
- Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-2-0-0)
- Voting Yes: Bartels, Blare, Cammack, Chaffee, Chase, Drury, Healy, Reimer, Wangsness, Rehfeldt, and Mortenson

Voting No: Hansen and Lesmeister

HJR 5001 : Proposing and submitting to the voters at the next general election an amendment to the Constitution of the State of South Dakota, requiring all nonjudicial offices elected by a statewide vote to be nominated at a primary election.

Presented by	: Representative Tyler Tordsen
Proponents:	Larry Eliason, Self, Gettysburg
	Yvonne Taylor, SD Advocacy Network for Women, Sioux Falls
Opponents:	Rick Weible, Self, Elkton
	Senator John Wiik

Brock Greenfield, self, Pierre, South Dakota Rich Sattgast, State Auditor, self, Pierre, South Dakota Anja Carley, self, Piedmont, South Dakota

MOTION: AMEND HJR 5001

HJR5001C

On page 1, line 13, of the Introduced resolution, delete " law" and insert " statute" On page 1, line 20, of the Introduced resolution, after "disqualification," insert " procedures for the

nomination of independent candidates by petition,"

Moved by: Wangsness Second by: Drury Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: DEFER HJR 5001 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by:	Hansen
Second by:	Chaffee
Action:	Was not acted on.

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DO PASS HJR 5001 AS AMENDED

Moved by:	Rehfeldt
Second by:	Chase
Action:	Failed by Majority Members Elect (6-7-0-0)

- Voting Yes: Bartels, Chase, Drury, Wangsness, Rehfeldt, and Mortenson
- Voting No: Blare, Cammack, Chaffee, Hansen, Healy, Lesmeister, and Reimer

Revert to previous motion

MOTION: DEFER HJR 5001 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by:	Hansen
Second by:	Chaffee
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-5-0-0)

- Voting Yes: Bartels, Blare, Cammack, Chaffee, Hansen, Healy, Lesmeister, and Reimer
- Voting No: Chase, Drury, Wangsness, Rehfeldt, and Mortenson

HB 1053 : create term limits for public utilities commissioners.

Presented by: Representative Hugh Bartels

Opponents: Chris Nelson, Commissioner - PUC, Pierre Kara Semmler, SD Telecommunications Association, Pierre Rick Weible, self, Elkton, South Dakota

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1053

Moved by: Chase

Second by: Rehfeldt

Action: Was not acted on.

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DEFER HB 1053 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

- Moved by: Blare
- Second by: Drury

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-4-0-0)

- Voting Yes: Blare, Cammack, Chaffee, Drury, Hansen, Healy, Lesmeister, Reimer, and Wangsness
- Voting No: Bartels, Chase, Rehfeldt, and Mortenson

HB 1071 : revise a provision providing authority to the Governor to enter into agreements with the Nuclear Regulatory Commission.

- Presented by: Representative Mike Weisgram
- Proponents: Steve Willard, South Dakota Electric Utility Companies, Pierre Pamela A Bonrud, NorthWestern Energy, Sioux Falls Chris Nelson, Commissioner - PUC, Pierre
- Opponents: Lilias Jarding, self, Rapid City, South Dakota Guy W Larson, South Dakota Chapter of Sierra Club, Vermillion Melissa McCauley, Dakota Rural Action, Brookings Carla Rae Marshall, self, Rapid City, South Dakota

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1071

Moved by:	Reimer
Second by:	Rehfeldt
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-1-0-0)

Voting Yes: Bartels, Blare, Cammack, Chaffee, Chase, Drury, Hansen, Lesmeister, Reimer, Wangsness, Rehfeldt, and Mortenson

Voting No: Healy

THE CHAIR DEFERRED HB 1071 AND 1044 UNTIL FRIDAY, JANUARY 19TH 2024

MOTION: AMEND HB 1057

1057A

On page 4, line 8, of the Introduced bill, after "child" insert " appeal" Moved by: Hansen Second by: Drury Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: DEFER HB 1057 UNTIL FRIDAY, JANUARY 19TH, 2024

Moved by:	Rehfeldt
Second by:	Lesmeister

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Chaffee

Second by: Cammack

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Pam Kean, Committee Secretary

/s/ WILL MORTENSON Will Mortenson, Chair