Committee: House State Affairs

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Bartels, Rep. Blare, Rep. Cammack, Rep. Chaffee, Rep. Chase, Rep. Drury, Rep. Hansen, Rep. Healy, Rep. Lesmeister, Rep. Reimer, Rep. Wangsness, Rep. Rehfeldt, and Rep. Mortenson

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Mortenson

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF FRIDAY, JANUARY 12TH

Moved by:ChaffeeSecond by:ChaseAction:Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1003 : update a reference to the Internal Revenue Code for purposes of higher education savings plans.

Presented by: John Richter, South Dakota Investment Council

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1003

Moved by:	Bartels
Second by:	Blare
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Bartels, Blare, Cammack, Chaffee, Chase, Drury, Hansen, Healy, Lesmeister, Reimer, Wangsness, Rehfeldt, and Mortenson

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1003 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

HB 1011 : revise the membership of the South Dakota Capitol Complex Restoration and Beautification Commission.

Presented by: Representative Will Mortenson

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1011

- Moved by: Cammack
- Second by: Chaffee
- Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)
- Voting Yes: Bartels, Blare, Cammack, Chaffee, Chase, Drury, Hansen, Healy, Lesmeister, Reimer, Wangsness, Rehfeldt, and Mortenson

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1011 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

HB 1035 : extend the period of renewal for an enhanced permit to carry a concealed pistol.

Presented by: Representative Kevin Jensen (Handout(s) #1)

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1035

- Moved by: Chaffee
- Second by: Wangsness
- Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-1-1-0)
- Voting Yes: Blare, Cammack, Chaffee, Chase, Drury, Hansen, Lesmeister, Reimer, Wangsness, Rehfeldt, and Mortenson
- Voting No: Healy
- Excused: Bartels

HB 1039 : provide for the payment of legal expenses originating from crime committed at a facility maintained by the Department of Corrections.

Presented by: Representative Will Mortenson

Proponents: Eric Erickson, South Dakota Association of County Commissioners, PIERRE Opponents: Brittni Skipper, Department of Corrections

MOTION: REFER HB 1039 TO HOUSE COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS DO PASS

- Moved by: Cammack
- Second by: Chase

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Bartels, Blare, Cammack, Chaffee, Chase, Drury, Hansen, Healy, Lesmeister, Reimer, Wangsness, Rehfeldt, and Mortenson

HB 1041 : modify the definition of public infrastructure to allow a federally recognized Indian tribe to be eligible for housing infrastructure grants and loans and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Representative Tyler Tordsen

Proponents: Julie M Johnson, Homes For South Dakota, SISSETON David Reiss, South Dakota Municipal League, FORT PIERRE Larry A Nelson, Economic Dev. Professionals Association, ABERDEEN

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1041

Moved by:	Chase
Second by:	Wangsness
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-1-0-0)
Voting Yes:	Bartels, Blare, Cammack, Chaffee, Chase, Drury, Healy, Lesmeister, Reimer,

Wangsness, Rehfeldt, and Mortenson

Voting No: Hansen

HB 1052 : increase the minimum fee required with an application for construction of an energy conversion and transmission facility.

Presented by: Kristie Fiegen, Public Utilities Commissioner Opponents: Brett Koenecke, South Dakota Electric Utility Companies, Pierre

MOTION: DEFER HB 1052 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Second by: Action:	Chase Bartels Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-2-0-0)
Voting Yes:	Bartels, Blare, Cammack, Chaffee, Chase, Drury, Healy, Lesmeister, Wangsness, Rehfeldt, and Mortenson
Voting No:	Hansen and Reimer

HB 1055 : raise the appraisal value of surplus property that may be sold by a political subdivision without notice.

Presented by: Representative Byron Callies

Proponents: David Reiss, South Dakota Municipal League, FORT PIERRE Angela Ehlers, self, Presho Eric Erickson, South Dakota Association of County Commissioners, PIERRE Douglas R. Wermedal, Associated School Boards of South Dakota, Pierre Others: Yvonne Taylot, self, Pierre Kenneth Wetz, self, Newell

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1055

Moved by:	Cammack
-----------	---------

Second by: Rehfeldt

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-2-0-0)

- Voting Yes: Bartels, Blare, Cammack, Chase, Drury, Healy, Lesmeister, Reimer, Wangsness, Rehfeldt, and Mortenson
- Voting No: Chaffee and Hansen

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by:ChaffeeSecond by:DruryAction:Prevailed by voice vote

Pam Kean, Committee Secretary

/s/ WILL MORTENSON Will Mortenson, Chair