Committee: Senate Health and Human Services

Friday, January 12, 2024 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Diedrich, Sen. Reed, Sen. Rohl, Sen. Bordeaux, Sen. Novstrup, Sen. Davis, and Sen. Tobin

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Tobin

INFORMATIONAL BRIEFING Melissa Magstadt, Secretary of the Department of Health (Handout 1,2,3,4,5)

modify provisions related to medical cannabis. SB 42 :

Presented by: Lynne Valenti, Department of Health (Handout(s) 6) Proponents: Jeremiah M. Murphy, Cannabis Industry Association of SD, Sioux Falls Dean Krogman, State Medical Association SD, Sioux Falls

MOTION: AMEND SB 42

On page 6, line 11, of the Introduced bill, delete ":

(1) Immediately " and insert " immediately "

On page 6, line 12, of the Introduced bill, after "cannabis" insert " for retail sale"

On page 6, line 12, of the Introduced bill, after "product" insert " in final form"

On page 6, line 13, of the Introduced bill, after "establishment" delete "; and

(2) Immediately prior to presentation of the cannabis or cannabis product for retail sale"

On page 8, line 29, of the Introduced bill, after "name" insert " and date of birth" Moved by: Tobin

Diedrich

Second by:

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: **DO PASS SB 42 AS AMENDED**

Moved by:	Davis
Second by:	Rohl
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-1-0-0)

Voting Yes: Diedrich, Reed, Rohl, Novstrup, Davis, and Tobin

Voting No: Bordeaux

SB 43 : establish procedures for the imposition of fines and probation against medical cannabis establishments, and to increase the allowable fee for a medical cannabis establishment registration certificate.

Presented by: Lynne Valenti, Department of Health (Handout(s) 7) Proponents: Dean Krogman, State Medical Association SD, Sioux Falls Jeremiah M. Murphy, Cannabis Industry Association of SD, Sioux Falls

MOTION: DO PASS SB 43

Moved by:ReedSecond by:DiedrichAction:Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-1-0-0)

Voting Yes: Diedrich, Reed, Rohl, Novstrup, Davis, and Tobin

Voting No: Bordeaux

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by:DavisSecond by:DiedrichAction:Prevailed by voice vote

Mary Kirk, Committee Secretary

/s/ ERIN TOBIN Erin Tobin, Chair