Committee: Senate Commerce and Energy Thursday, January 11, 2024 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Crabtree, Sen. Hoffman, Sen. Johnson, Sen. Kolbeck (Steve),

Sen. Nesiba, Sen. Schoenbeck, Sen. Stalzer, Sen. Beal, and Sen. Wheeler

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Wheeler

SB 7: revise the water resources projects list.

Presented by: Senator Erin Tobin (Handout(s) 1)

MOTION: DO PASS SB 7

Moved by: Crabtree Second by: Beal

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Crabtree, Hoffman, Johnson, Kolbeck (Steve), Schoenbeck, Stalzer, Beal, and

Wheeler

Excused: Nesiba

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 7 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

SB 23: exempt an electric vehicle charging station from being subject to a civil fine for overcharging.

Presented by: Kristie Fiegen, Public Utilities Commissioner

Proponents: Christine Vinateri-Erickson, South Dakota Trucking Association, SIOUX FALLS

Christine Vinatieri-Erickson, South Dakota Auto Dealers Association, SIOUX

FALLS

MOTION: DO PASS SB 23

Moved by: Kolbeck (Steve)

Second by: Beal

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Crabtree, Hoffman, Johnson, Kolbeck (Steve), Schoenbeck, Stalzer, Beal, and

Wheeler

Excused: Nesiba

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 23 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

SB 33: repeal the Petroleum Release Compensation Board.

Presented by: Senator Lee Schoenbeck

Proponents: Tina McFarling, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources

MOTION: DO PASS SB 33

Moved by: Kolbeck (Steve)

Second by: Beal

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Crabtree, Hoffman, Johnson, Kolbeck (Steve), Nesiba, Schoenbeck, Stalzer,

Beal, and Wheeler

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 33 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

SB 38 : amend the amount a merchant or place of business may assess against returned checks.

Presented by: Senator Michael Rohl

Proponents: William M Van Camp, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre

MOTION: DO PASS SB 38

Moved by: Crabtree Second by: Schoenbeck

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Crabtree, Hoffman, Johnson, Kolbeck (Steve), Nesiba, Schoenbeck, Stalzer,

Beal, and Wheeler

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 38 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

SB 41: modify an administrative procedure for revoking a nonresponsive insurance producer's license.

Presented by: Travis Jordan, Department of Labor and Regulation

MOTION: DO PASS SB 41

Moved by: Kolbeck (Steve)

Second by: Nesiba

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Crabtree, Hoffman, Johnson, Kolbeck (Steve), Nesiba, Schoenbeck, Stalzer,

Beal, and Wheeler

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 41 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Nesiba Second by: Beal

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Susan Gullickson, Committee Secretary

/s/ DAVID WHEELER
David Wheeler, Chair