Committee: Senate State Affairs

Roll Call

Present:Sen. Schoenbeck, Sen. Davis, Sen. Duhamel, Sen. Nesiba, Sen. Tobin,
Sen. Wheeler, Sen. Diedrich, and Sen. CrabtreeExcused:Sen. Rohl

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Crabtree

LAWRENCE LONG OF MINNEHAHA COUNTY, TO THE GOVERNMENT ACCOUNTABILITY BOARD

Presented by: Katie Hruska, Governor's Office

MOTION: THAT THE SENATE ADVISE AND CONSENT TO THE APPOINTMENT OF LAWRENCE LONG OF MINNEHAHA COUNTY, TO THE GOVERNMENT ACCOUNTABILITY BOARD

Moved by:	Schoenbeck
Second by:	Wheeler
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Schoenbeck, Davis, Duhamel, Nesiba, Tobin, Wheeler, Diedrich, and Crabtree

Excused: Rohl

SB 17 : modify the residency requirements for voter registration and declare an emergency.

THE CHAIR DEFERRED SB 17 UNTIL A LATER DATE

SB 18 : allow the secretary of state to share information from the statewide voter registration file.

Presented by: Thomas Deadrick, Deputy Secretary of State (Handout(s) 1) Proponents: Rachel Soulek, Secretary of State

THE CHAIR DEFERRED SB 18 UNTIL A LATER DATE

SB 19 : rescind rulemaking authority pertaining to the process for publishing required voter registration numbers.

Presented by: Thomas Deadrick, Deputy Secretary of State (Handout(s) 2,3)Proponents:Rachel Soulek, Secretary of StateOpponents:Yvonne Taylor, SD Advocacy Network for Women, Sioux Falls

MOTION: DO PASS SB 19

Moved by: Wheeler Second by: Tobin

- Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-1-1-0)
- Voting Yes: Schoenbeck, Davis, Duhamel, Tobin, Wheeler, Diedrich, and Crabtree
- Voting No: Nesiba
- Excused: Rohl

SB 21 : rescind rule-making authority for the annual report of the number of voters removed from a county's voter registration list.

Presented by: Thomas Deadrick, Deputy Secretary of State (Handout(s) 4) Opponents: Yvonne Taylor, SD Advocacy Network for Women, Sioux Falls

MOTION: DO PASS SB 21

Moved by: Second by: Action:	Wheeler Tobin Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-1-1-0)
Voting Yes:	Schoenbeck, Davis, Duhamel, Tobin, Wheeler, Diedrich, and Crabtree
Voting No:	Nesiba
Excused:	Rohl
MOTION:	ADJOURN
Moved by: Second by: Action:	Tobin Davis Prevailed by voice vote

Doug Mortenson, Committee Secretary

/s/ CASEY CRABTREE Casey Crabtree, Chair