Committee: Senate Agriculture and Natural ResourcesThursday, January 11, 2024 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Klumb, Sen. Larson, Sen. Mehlhaff, Sen. Novstrup, Sen. Tobin,

Sen. Deibert, and Sen. Otten (Herman)

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Otten (Herman)

INFORMATIONAL BRIEFING

Hunter Roberts, Secretary, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources, DANR Update 1-11-2024 (Handout #1)

SB 22: amend language regarding the licensing period for a grain buyer.

Presented by: Chris Nelson, Commissioner - PUC, Pierre

Proponents: Kathy Zander, South Dakota Agri-Business Association, PIERRE

Brenda Forman, South Dakota Association of Cooperatives, Pierre

MOTION: DO PASS SB 22

Moved by: Klumb Second by: Mehlhaff

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Klumb, Larson, Mehlhaff, Novstrup, Tobin, Deibert, and Otten (Herman)

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 22 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

SB 70: to make an appropriation for the replacement of the Richmond Lake dam and spillway, for the general maintenance and repair of other state-owned dams, and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Brock Greenfield, School and Public Lands (Handout(s) #2)

Proponents: Justin Nagel, School and Public Lands

Yolanda Sung, Bureau of Finance and Management

Julie M Johnson, Aberdeen Development Corporation, Aberdeen

Representative Carl Perry

Angela Ehlers, South Dakota Association of Conservation Districts, Pierre

Miguel Wong, Barr Engineering, Denver, self Brian Becker, Barr Engineering, Minneapolis, self

MOTION: REFER SB 70 TO JOINT COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS DO PASS

Moved by: Klumb Second by: Deibert

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Klumb, Larson, Mehlhaff, Novstrup, Tobin, Deibert, and Otten (Herman)

Senate Ad	riculture	and	Natural	Resources

Thursday, January 11, 2024 10:00 AM

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Klumb Second by: Tobin

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Susan Anderson, Committee Secretary

/s/ HERMAN OTTEN Herman Otten, Chair