Committee: House Education

Roll Call

Present: Rep. DeGroot, Rep. Heermann, Rep. Reisch, Rep. Callies, Rep. Arlint, Rep. Sauder, Rep. Moore, Rep. Mulder, Rep. Emery, Rep. Odenbach, Rep. Soye, Rep. Jensen (Phil), Rep. Tordsen, Rep. Deutsch, and Rep. Stevens

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Stevens

HB 1002 : require administration of the ACT to public school students in grade eleven.

Presented by: Representative Tony Venhuizen

Proponents:	Dr. Joseph Graves, Department of Education	
	Samuel J Nelson, Sioux Falls School District, Sioux Falls	
	Sandra Marie Waltman, South Dakota Education Association, Pierre	
Opponents:	Debbie Pease, SD Family Voice Action, RAPID CITY	

MOTION: TO TABLE HB 1002

Moved b	y:	Soye
---------	----	------

Second by: Jensen (Phil)

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (14-0-1-0)

- Voting Yes: DeGroot, Heermann, Reisch, Callies, Arlint, Sauder, Moore, Mulder, Emery, Odenbach, Soye, Jensen (Phil), Deutsch, and Stevens
- Excused: Tordsen

HB 1020 : revise the method by which completion of a required suicide awareness and prevention training is verified.

Presented by: Dr. Joseph Graves, Department of Education

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1020

Moved by:	Mulder
Second by:	Deutsch
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (14-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: DeGroot, Heermann, Reisch, Callies, Arlint, Sauder, Moore, Mulder, Emery, Odenbach, Soye, Jensen (Phil), Deutsch, and Stevens

Excused: Tordsen

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1020 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

HB 1021 : merge the Professional Teachers Practices and Standards Commission and the Professional Administrators Practices and Standards Commission.

Presented by: Dr. Joseph Graves, Department of Education

Opponents: Rob L Monson, School Administrators of South Dakota, Pierre Sandra Marie Waltman, South Dakota Education Association, Pierre Dianna Miller, Large School Group (Aberdeen), Aberdeen

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1021

Moved by: Second by: Action:	Deutsch Jensen (Phil) Failed by Majority Members Elect (7-7-1-0)
Voting Yes:	Heermann, Mulder, Odenbach, Soye, Jensen (Phil), Tordsen, and Deutsch
Voting No:	DeGroot, Reisch, Arlint, Sauder, Moore, Emery, and Stevens
Excused:	Callies

THE CHAIR DEFERRED HB 1021 UNTIL NEXT MEETING

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by:	Jensen (Phil)
Second by:	Reisch
Action:	Prevailed by voice vote

James Sapp, Committee Secretary

/s/ MIKE STEVENS Mike Stevens, Chair