Committee: House Taxation Thursday, January 11, 2024 8:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Aylward, Rep. DeGroot, Rep. Duffy, Rep. Jensen (Phil), Rep. Massie,

Rep. May, Rep. Perry, Rep. Peterson (Sue), Rep. Pinnow, Rep. Randolph,

Rep. Jamison, and Rep. Chaffee

Excused: Rep. Pourier

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by

INFORMATIONAL BRIEFING

Department of Revenue; Michael HoudyShell, Cabinet Secretary

HB 1018: revise certain references to the Internal Revenue Code.

Presented by: Brandi Eckert, Department of Revenue

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1018

Moved by: May Second by: Perry

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-1-1-0)

Voting Yes: Aylward, DeGroot, Duffy, Jensen (Phil), Massie, May, Perry, Peterson (Sue),

Pinnow, Jamison, and Chaffee

Voting No: Randolph

Excused: Pourier

HB 1019: clarify language regarding sales and use tax in certain statutes.

Presented by: Doug Schinkel, Department of Revenue

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1019

Moved by: Jensen (Phil)

Second by: May

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Aylward, DeGroot, Duffy, Jensen (Phil), Massie, May, Perry, Peterson (Sue),

Pinnow, Randolph, Jamison, and Chaffee

Excused: Pourier

HB 1001: repeal the expiration of a reduction in certain gross receipts and use

tax rates.

Presented by: Representative Chris Karr

Proponents: Jason Alan Glodt, National Federation of Independent Business (Washington

DC), Washington

Jim Terwilliger, Bureau of Finance and Management

Opponents: Nathan Sanderson, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre (Handout(s)

South Dakota Budget Excerpt 2015-2025)

Matthew M Bogue, South Dakota Farm Bureau Federation, Huron Mitch Rave, Greater Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce, Sioux Falls

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1001

Moved by: Peterson (Sue)

Second by: May

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-1-1-0)

Voting Yes: Aylward, Duffy, Jensen (Phil), Massie, May, Perry, Peterson (Sue), Pinnow,

Randolph, Jamison, and Chaffee

Voting No: DeGroot

Excused: Pourier

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Randolph Second by: Perry

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Madisen Vetter, Committee Secretary

/s/ KIRK CHAFFEE Kirk Chaffee, Chair