Committee: House Education Wednesday, March 01, 2023 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. DeGroot, Rep. Heermann, Rep. Reisch, Rep. Callies, Rep. Arlint,

Rep. Sauder, Rep. Moore, Rep. Mulder, Rep. Emery, Rep. Odenbach,

Rep. Soye, Rep. Phil Jensen, Rep. Tordsen, Rep. Deutsch, and Rep. Stevens

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

## The meeting was called to order by Representative Stevens

**MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 24<sup>TH</sup>

Moved by: Phil Jensen Second by: Sove

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

## SB 118: expand eligibility for certain teachers who receive reduced tuition at Board of Regents institutions.

Presented by: Senator Erin Tobin

Proponents: Katie Sieverding, South Dakota Head Start Association, Pierre

Kelsey Jo Lovseth, South Dakota Education Association, Pierre Rob L. Monson, School Administrators of South Dakota, Pierre Wade Pogany, Associated School Boards of South Dakota, Pierre

Carolyn Wolbrink, self, Wagner

Opponents: Senator Jim Bolin

Brandy Miesner, Bureau of Finance and Management

**MOTION:** DO PASS SB 118

Moved by: Deutsch Second by: Sauder

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-4-3-0)

Voting Yes: Heermann, Reisch, Arlint, Sauder, Moore, Emery, Deutsch, and Stevens

Voting No: Callies, Odenbach, Soye, and Phil Jensen

Excused: DeGroot, Mulder, and Tordsen

## SB 168: authorize a board of a school district to adopt policies regarding students who are registered sex offenders, and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Senator Ryan Maher

Proponents: Jason Alan Glodt, South Dakotans Protecting Students, Mud Butte

Representative Gary L. Cammack

Wade Pogany, Associated School Boards of South Dakota, Pierre Dean Ronald Johnson, South Dakotans Protecting Students, Mud Butte Sandra Marie Waltman, South Dakota Education Association, Pierre

Opponents: Terra Larson, South Dakota Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Pierre

Others: Steve O'Brien, Self, Watertown

**MOTION:** DO PASS SB 168

Moved by: Odenbach Second by: Callies

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (14-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: DeGroot, Heermann, Reisch, Callies, Arlint, Sauder, Moore, Emery, Odenbach,

Soye, Phil Jensen, Tordsen, Deutsch, and Stevens

Excused: Mulder

**MOTION:** ADJOURN

Moved by: Callies Second by: DeGroot

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Julianne Graham, Committee Secretary

/s/ MIKE STEVENS Mike Stevens, Chair