Committee: Senate Military and Veterans Affairs Monday, February 27, 2023 4:00 PM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Hoffman, Sen. Jack Kolbeck, Sen. Stalzer, Sen. Zikmund, and

Sen. Johnson

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Johnson

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF MONDAY, FEBRUARY 13TH

Moved by: Zikmund Second by: Stalzer

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1039: revise certain provisions regarding the payment of tuition for members of the South Dakota National Guard.

Presented by: Jeff Marlette, Department of the Military (Handout(s) 1)

Proponents: Heather Forney, Board of Regents

Justin G. Smith, Sioux Falls Area Chamber of Commerce, Sioux Falls

Christopher Patrick Van Delist, American Legion Department of South Dakota,

Watertown

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1039

Moved by: Stalzer Second by: Zikmund

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (5-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Hoffman, Jack Kolbeck, Stalzer, Zikmund, and Johnson

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1039 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

HB 1045: to increase the basic salary schedule for county veterans' service officers.

Presented by: Aaron Pollard, Department of Veterans Affairs

Proponents: Christopher Patrick Van Delist, American Legion Department of South Dakota,

Watertown

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1045

Moved by: Zikmund Second by: Jack Kolbeck

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (5-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Hoffman, Jack Kolbeck, Stalzer, Zikmund, and Johnson

HB 1065: increase the maximum amount of dollars payable by the state to erect the headstone of a deceased veteran.

Presented by: Representative Tim Reisch (Handout(s) 2)

Proponents: Christopher Patrick Van Delist, American Legion Department of South Dakota,

Watertown

Aaron J. Walberg, South Dakota Veterans Service Officers Association, Canton

Opponents: Mark Fuller, Bureau of Finance and Management

MOTION: REFER HB 1065 TO SENATE COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS DO

PASS

Moved by: Stalzer Second by: Hoffman

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (5-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Hoffman, Jack Kolbeck, Stalzer, Zikmund, and Johnson

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Jack Kolbeck Second by: Zikmund

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Amber Hodgin, Committee Secretary

/s/ DAVID JOHNSON David Johnson, Chair