Committee: House Commerce and Energy Friday, February 24, 2023 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Arlint, Rep. Bahmuller, Rep. Callies, Rep. Duffy, Rep. Krohmer,

Rep. Mulally, Rep. Nelson, Rep. Pinnow, Rep. Schneider, Rep. Shorma,

Rep. Perry, and Rep. Weisgram

Excused: Rep. Donnell

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Weisgram

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 22ND

Moved by: Shorma Second by: Perry

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

THE CHAIR DEFERRED SB 159 UNTIL MONDAY, FEBRUARY 27TH 2023

SB 120: increase an amount of property value owned by a local industrial development corporation that is exempt from taxation.

Presented by: Representative Greg Jamison

Proponents: Michael Lee Bockorny, Economic Dev. Professionals Association, Aberdeen

David Owen, South Dakota Chamber of Commerce & Industry, Pierre

Brooke Rollag, Lake Area Improvement Corporation, Madison

Geri Beck, Mitchell Area Development Corp, Mitchell

Andrew Nilges, North Sioux City Economic Development, N. Sioux City, IA

Mitch Richter, South Dakota United School Association, Milbank

Roger Tellinghuisen, Elevate Rapid City

David Reiss, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre

Justin G. Smith, Sioux Falls Area Chamber of Commerce, Sioux Falls

Opponents: Rob L. Monson, School Administrators of South Dakota, Pierre

Dianna Miller, Large School Group (Aberdeen), Aberdeen

Wendy Semmler, Department of Revenue

MOTION: AMEND SB 120

120B

On page 1, line 10, of the Senate Commerce and Energy Engrossed bill, delete "a for-profit" and insert

"an"

On page 1, line 10, of the Senate Commerce and Energy Engrossed bill, after "entity" insert " not

otherwise exempt from property taxes, pursuant to chapter 10-4,"

Moved by: Perry Second by: Pinnow

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: DO PASS SB 120 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Nelson

Second by: Arlint

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-4-1-0)

Voting Yes: Arlint, Duffy, Nelson, Pinnow, Schneider, Shorma, Perry, and Weisgram

Voting No: Bahmuller, Callies, Krohmer, and Mulally

Excused: Donnell

SB 174: prohibit the enactment or implementation of an ordinance, resolution, or policy that prohibits the use of an energy utility service.

Presented by: Representative Becky J. Drury

Proponents: Steve Willard, South Dakota Electric Utility Companies, Pierre

Dawna Leitzke, South Dakota Petroleum and Propane Marketers Association,

Pierre

Tim Dougherty, South Dakota Home Builders Association, Pierre Justin G. Smith, Sioux Falls Area Chamber of Commerce, Sioux Falls

Nathan Sanderson, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre

Chris Nelson, Public Utilities Commission

MOTION: DO PASS SB 174

Moved by: Callies Second by: Shorma

Action: Was not acted on.

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DEFER SB 174 UNTIL MONDAY, FEBRUARY

27TH, 2023

Moved by: Bahmuller Second by: Shorma

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (12-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Arlint, Bahmuller, Callies, Duffy, Krohmer, Mulally, Nelson, Pinnow, Schneider,

Shorma, Perry, and Weisgram

Excused: Donnell

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Krohmer Second by: Mulally

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Jean Denton, Committee Secretary

/s/ MIKE WEISGRAM
Mike Weisgram, Chair