Committee: House Education Friday, February 24, 2023 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. DeGroot, Rep. Heermann, Rep. Reisch, Rep. Callies, Rep. Arlint,

Rep. Sauder, Rep. Moore, Rep. Mulder, Rep. Emery, Rep. Odenbach,

Rep. Soye, Rep. Phil Jensen, Rep. Tordsen, Rep. Deutsch, and Rep. Stevens

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Stevens

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 22ND

Moved by: Phil Jensen Second by: Odenbach

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

SB 45: repeal the requirement for an annual report by the Board of Regents regarding intellectual diversity and the free exchange of ideas

MOTION: DO PASS SB 45

Moved by: Arlint Second by: Sauder

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (4-11-0-0)

Voting Yes: DeGroot, Reisch, Sauder, and Stevens

Voting No: Heermann, Callies, Arlint, Moore, Mulder, Emery, Odenbach, Soye, Phil

Jensen, Tordsen, and Deutsch

MOTION: DEFER SB 45 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Callies Second by: Odenbach

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (14-1-0-0)

Voting Yes: DeGroot, Heermann, Reisch, Callies, Arlint, Sauder, Moore, Mulder, Emery,

Odenbach, Soye, Phil Jensen, Tordsen, and Deutsch

Voting No: Stevens

SB 182: establish a uniform method for calculating high school credit received from completing postsecondary courses.

Presented by: Senator Jessica Castleberry

Proponents: Joseph Graves, Secretary, Department of Education

John Cromwell, self, Rapid City Barb Cromwell, self, Rapid City **MOTION:** DO PASS SB 182

Moved by: Mulder Second by: DeGroot

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (15-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: DeGroot, Heermann, Reisch, Callies, Arlint, Sauder, Moore, Mulder, Emery,

Odenbach, Soye, Phil Jensen, Tordsen, Deutsch, and Stevens

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 182 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

SB 129: include school employees in certain assault provisions and provide a penalty therefor.

Presented by: Senator Jim Stalzer

Proponents: Rob L. Monson, School Administrators of South Dakota, Pierre

Dianna Miller, Large School Group (Aberdeen), Aberdeen

Sandra Marie Waltman, South Dakota Education Association, Pierre Wade Pogany, Associated School Boards of South Dakota, Pierre

Opponents: Terra Larson, South Dakota Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Pierre

MOTION: DO PASS SB 129

Moved by: Emery Second by: Arlint

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-3-0-0)

Voting Yes: DeGroot, Heermann, Reisch, Callies, Arlint, Sauder, Moore, Mulder, Emery,

Odenbach, Tordsen, and Deutsch

Voting No: Soye, Phil Jensen, and Stevens

SB 108: provide an educational exception to consumption prohibitions for persons over eighteen years of age who are required to taste an alcoholic beverage as part of a course.

Presented by: Senator Reynold F. Nesiba Proponents: Matt Hastad, Self, Sioux Falls

Nicholas Wipf, South Dakota Mines Student Association Senate, Rapid City

Stephanie Bruggerman, self, Sioux Falls

Andrew Manning, Self, Sioux Falls

Opponents: Katie Hruska, Governor's Office

Jason Evans, Department of Revenue

MOTION: DO PASS SB 108

Moved by: Emery Second by: Odenbach

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-6-1-0)

Voting Yes: Reisch, Callies, Sauder, Mulder, Emery, Odenbach, Phil Jensen, and Stevens

Voting No: DeGroot, Heermann, Arlint, Moore, Tordsen, and Deutsch

Excused: Soye

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Callies Second by: Odenbach

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Julianne Graham, Committee Secretary

/s/ MIKE STEVENS Mike Stevens, Chair