Committee: Senate Agriculture and Natural Resources Tuesday, February 21, 2023 10:00

AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Klumb, Sen. Larson, Sen. Mehlhaff, Sen. Novstrup, Sen. Tobin,

Sen. Deibert, and Sen. Herman Otten

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Herman Otten

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 16TH

Moved by: Klumb Second by: Tobin

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

SB 184: make an appropriation of American Rescue Plan Act monies for preconstruction activities of regional water system projects and to declare an emergency.

MOTION: REFER SB 184 TO JOINT COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS AS

AMENDED DO PASS

Moved by: Klumb Second by: Larson

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (3-4-0-0)

Voting Yes: Klumb, Larson, and Herman Otten

Voting No: Mehlhaff, Novstrup, Tobin, and Deibert

MOTION: DEFER SB 184 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Mehlhaff Second by: Tobin

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (4-3-0-0)

Voting Yes: Mehlhaff, Novstrup, Tobin, and Deibert

Voting No: Klumb, Larson, and Herman Otten

HB 1210: modify the use of conservation district special revenue fund monies

and to provide an appropriation therefor.

Presented by: Senator Jack Kolbeck

Proponents: Angela Ehlers, SD Association of Conservation Districts, Pierre

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1210

Moved by: Klumb Second by: Tobin Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Klumb, Larson, Mehlhaff, Novstrup, Tobin, Deibert, and Herman Otten

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1210 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

HB 1029 : revise certain provisions regarding the county zoning and appeals process.

Presented by: Hunter Roberts, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources

Proponents: Representative James D. Wangsness

Opponents: Chase Jensen, Dakota Rural Action, Brookings

Paul Lepisto, SD Division of the Izaak Walton League of America, Pierre

Mitch Richter, South Dakota Chapter of Sierra Club, Vermillion

Frank Kloucek, self, Scotland

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1029

Moved by: Deibert Second by: Mehlhaff

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (4-3-0-0)

Voting Yes: Klumb, Larson, Mehlhaff, and Deibert

Voting No: Novstrup, Tobin, and Herman Otten

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Klumb Second by: Tobin

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Amber Hodgin, Committee Secretary

/s/ HERMAN OTTEN Herman Otten, Chair