Committee:	House	Local	Government
------------	-------	-------	------------

Roll Call	
Present:	Rep. Ladner, Rep. Jamison, Rep. Overweg, Rep. Wittman, Rep. Aylward,
	Rep. Auch, Rep. Bahmuller, Rep. Olson, Rep. Sue Peterson, Rep. Sjaarda,
	Rep. Fitzgerald, and Rep. Drury
Excused:	Rep. Lems

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

### The meeting was called to order by Representative Drury

## **MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 14<sup>TH</sup>

Moved by:	Auch
Second by:	Bahmuller
Action:	Prevailed by voice vote

### HB 1217 : modify the requirements for eligibility to vote by absentee ballot.

- Presented by: Representative Scott Odenbach
- Proponents: Cindy Konopasek, Self, Yankton
- Opponents: Susan Kiepke, Dawson County Auditor, Self, Mitchell Erik Nelson, AARP South Dakota, Sioux Falls Cheryl Otto, Self, Yankton Kathy Glines, Harding County Auditor, self, Buffalo Samantha Chapman, American Civil Liberties Union Foundation Inc, NY Cindy Mohler, Pennington County Auditor, Rapid City

# MOTION: DO PASS HB 1217

Moved by:Sue PetersonSecond by:OverwegAction:Was not acted on.

# MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DEFER HB 1217 TO THE 41<sup>ST</sup> LEGISLATIVE DAY

- Moved by: Fitzgerald
- Second by: Wittman

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (5-7-1-0)

- Voting Yes: Jamison, Wittman, Olson, Fitzgerald, and Drury
- Voting No: Ladner, Overweg, Aylward, Auch, Bahmuller, Sue Peterson, and Sjaarda

Excused: Lems

#### Revert to previous motion

# MOTION: DO PASS HB 1217

- Moved by:Sue PetersonSecond by:OverwegAction:Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-5-1-0)
- Voting Yes: Ladner, Overweg, Aylward, Auch, Bahmuller, Sue Peterson, and Sjaarda
- Voting No: Jamison, Wittman, Olson, Fitzgerald, and Drury

Excused: Lems

### MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by:JamisonSecond by:FitzgeraldAction:Prevailed by voice vote

Julianne Graham, Committee Secretary

/s/ BECKY J. DRURY Becky J. Drury, Chair