Committee: Senate Transportation

# Roll Call

Present:	Sen. Beal, Sen. Deibert, Sen. Larson, Sen. Schoenfish, Sen. Castleberry, and
	Sen. Klumb
Excused:	Sen. Zikmund

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

#### The meeting was called to order by Senator Klumb

# **MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 10<sup>TH</sup>

Moved by:	Castleberry
Second by:	Larson
Action:	Prevailed by voice vote

# THE CHAIR DEFERRED SR 701 UNTIL NEXT WEDNESDAY (FEBRUARY 22, 2023)

# SB 190 : designate a portion of U.S. Highway 83 as Sicangu Lakota Code Talker Highway.

Presented by: Senator Shawn Bordeaux (Handout(s) 1) Opponents: Shane Pullman, Department of Transportation

# MOTION: DEFER SB 190 TO THE 41<sup>ST</sup> LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by:	Beal
Second by:	Deibert
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Beal, Deibert, Larson, Schoenfish, Zikmund, Castleberry, and Klumb

#### SB 199 : clarify the requirements for using state aircraft and vehicles.

Presented by: Senator Reynold F. Nesiba

Opponents: Joel Jundt, Department of Transportation Tiffany Sanderson, Lake Area Technical College

#### MOTION: AMEND SB 199

199A

- On page 1, line 18, of the Introduced bill, after "state" insert " or is not enrolled in an aviation program at an institution under the control of the Board of Regents or the South Dakota Board of Technical Education"
- On page 1, line 21, of the Introduced bill, after "business" insert " that is not required as part of an aviation program offered by an institution under the control of the Board of Regents or the South Dakota Board of Technical Education"

Moved by: Deibert

Second by: Zikmund

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

# MOTION: DEFER SB 199 TO THE 41<sup>ST</sup> LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by:	Beal
Second by:	Castleberry
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-1-0-0)

- Voting Yes: Beal, Deibert, Schoenfish, Zikmund, Castleberry, and Klumb
- Voting No: Larson

# HB 1042 : update additional charges allowed for mailing decals and plates and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Senator Helene Duhamel

Proponents: Deb Tridle, Lawrence County, Deadwood Annette Brandt, Pennington County Treasurers Office, Rapid City Holli Hennies, Pennington County, Rapid City Craig Matson, South Dakota Association of County Commissioners, Pierre

# MOTION: DO PASS HB 1042

Moved by:	Deibert
Second by:	Larson
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Beal, Deibert, Larson, Schoenfish, Zikmund, Castleberry, and Klumb

# MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by:	Zikmund
Second by:	Beal
Action:	Prevailed by voice vote

Amber Hodgin, Committee Secretary

/s/ JOSHUA KLUMB Joshua Klumb, Chair