Committee: Senate Education

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Bordeaux, Sen. Castleberry, Sen. Davis, Sen. Pischke, Sen. Reed, Sen. Steve Kolbeck, and Sen. Schoenfish

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Schoenfish

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 09TH

Moved by:DavisSecond by:ReedAction:Prevailed by voice vote

INFORMATIONAL BRIEFING

Dr Joseph Graves, Secretary, Department of Education, JAG (Jobs for American Graduates) handout #1

SB 129 : include school employees in certain assault provisions and provide a penalty therefor.

Presented by: Senator Jim Stalzer

 Proponents: Rob L. Monson, School Administrators of South Dakota, Pierre Dianna Miller, Large School Group (Aberdeen), Aberdeen Wade Pogany, Associated School Boards of South Dakota, Pierre Sandra Marie Waltman, South Dakota Education Association, Pierre
Opponents: Terra Larson, South Dakota Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Pierre

MOTION: DO PASS SB 129

| Moved | hv۰ | Reed |
|-------|-----|------|
| noveu | Uy. | Neeu |

Second by: Davis

- Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (5-2-0-0)
- Voting Yes: Castleberry, Davis, Reed, Steve Kolbeck, and Schoenfish
- Voting No: Bordeaux and Pischke

SB 65 : modify the compulsory age for school attendance.

Presented by: Senator Lee Schoenbeck

Proponents: Lisa Nolan, self, Sioux Falls

Opponents: Rob L. Monson, School Administrators of South Dakota, Pierre Stephanie Hageman, self, Lake Preston Amanda Schaaf, self, Watertown Wade Pogany, Associated School Boards of South Dakota, Pierre Dianna Miller, Large School Group (Aberdeen), Aberdeen Sandra Marie Waltman, South Dakota Education Association, Pierre

MOTION: DO PASS SB 65

| Moved by: | Davis |
|------------|--|
| Second by: | Pischke |
| Action: | Failed by Majority Members Elect (2-4-1-0) |

- Voting Yes: Bordeaux and Davis
- Voting No: Pischke, Reed, Steve Kolbeck, and Schoenfish
- Excused: Castleberry

MOTION: DEFER SB 65 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

| Moved by: | Pischke |
|------------|---|
| Second by: | Steve Kolbeck |
| Action: | Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (5-1-1-0) |

- Voting Yes: Bordeaux, Pischke, Reed, Steve Kolbeck, and Schoenfish
- Voting No: Davis
- Excused: Castleberry

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by:PischkeSecond by:ReedAction:Prevailed by voice vote

Jean Denton, Committee Secretary

/s/ KYLE SCHOENFISH Kyle Schoenfish, Chair