Committee: Senate Commerce and Energy

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Crabtree, Sen. Brent "B.R." Hoffman, Sen. Steve Kolbeck, Sen. Nesiba, Sen. Schoenbeck, Sen. Stalzer, Sen. Zikmund, Sen. Beal, and Sen. Wheeler

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Wheeler

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 09TH

Moved by:CrabtreeSecond by:BealAction:Prevailed by voice vote

SB 120 : increase an amount of property value owned by a local industrial development corporation that is exempt from taxation.

Presented by: Senator Tim Reed

Proponents:	 David Owen, South Dakota Chamber of Commerce & Industry, Pierre Andrew Nilges, North Sioux City Economic Development, N. Sioux Cit Brooke Rollag, Lake Area Improvement Corporation, Madison 		
	Roger Tellinghuisen, Elevate Rapid City		
	Geri Beck, Mitchell Area Development Corp, Mitchell (Handout(s) #1, #2)		
	Debra Owen, Greater Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce, Sioux Falls		
	David Reiss, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre		
	Larry A. Nelson, Economic Development Professionals Assocation, Mitchell		
Opponents:	Michael Houdyshell, Department of Revenue		
	Eric Erickson, South Dakota Association of County Commissioners, Pierre		
	Dianna Miller, Large School Group (Aberdeen), Aberdeen		
	Rob L. Monson, School Administrators of South Dakota, Pierre		

Wade Pogany, Associated School Boards of South Dakota, Pierre

MOTION: AMEND SB 120

120A

On page 1, line 5, of the Introduced bill, delete "Ten" and insert "Five"

- On page 1, line 9, of the Introduced bill, delete " ten" and insert " five" Moved by: Nesiba
- Second by: Crabtree
- Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: DO PASS SB 120 AS AMENDED

Second by: Beal

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Crabtree, Brent "B.R." Hoffman, Steve Kolbeck, Nesiba, Schoenbeck, Stalzer, Zikmund, Beal, and Wheeler

MICHAEL HOUDYSHELL OF HUGHES COUNTY, PIERRE, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE POSITION OF SECRETARY OF THE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

Presented by: Laura Ringling, Governor's Office

MOTION: THAT THE SENATE ADVISE AND CONSENT TO THE APPOINTMENT OF MICHAEL HOUDYSHELL OF HUGHES COUNTY, PIERRE, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE POSITION OF SECRETARY OF THE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

- Moved by: Beal
- Second by: Crabtree

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Crabtree, Brent "B.R." Hoffman, Steve Kolbeck, Nesiba, Schoenbeck, Stalzer, Zikmund, Beal, and Wheeler

SB 194 : to establish certain provisions regarding fairness in repairs of equipment sold or used in this state.

Presented by: Senator Tom Pischke

Proponents: Gay Gordon-Byrne, Repair.org, North River, NY (Handout(s) #3) Chris Nelson, self, Sioux Falls Oliver Moeckly, self, student, Amherst

Opponents: Dean Krogman, Pioneer Equipment Dealers Association, Fargo, ND Matthew Larsgaard, Pioneer Equipment Dealers Assoc., Fargo ND (Handout(s) #4) David Owen, South Dakota Chamber of Commerce & Industry, Pierre Matthew M. Boque, South Dakota Farm Bureau Federation, Huron Doug Abraham, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre William M. Van Camp, AT&T, Cheyenne, WY Charlie Grossenburg, Grossenburg Implement, Winner (Handout(s) #5) Tim Dougherty, South Dakota Auto Dealers Association, Sioux Falls Lisa McCabe, CTIA - The Wireless Association, Washington (Handout(s) #6) Dustin Brighton, Repair Done Right Coalition, Fayetteville, AR Ashley Sutton TechNet, Washington, DC Rachel McCarthy, Motorcycle Industry Council, Irvine, CA (Handout(s) #7) Andrew O'Connor, Entertainment Software Association, Washington (Handout(s) #8)

MOTION: DEFER SB 194 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved	hv۰	Crabtree
noveu	Dy.	Clabuee

- Second by: Brent "B.R." Hoffman
- Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Crabtree, Brent "B.R." Hoffman, Steve Kolbeck, Nesiba, Schoenbeck, Stalzer, Zikmund, Beal, and Wheeler

HB 1108 : revise provisions related to abandoned mobile or manufactured homes.

Presented by: Senator Larry P. Zikmund

Representative Mike Weisgram

 Proponents: Katie Sieverding, SD Manufactured Housing Association, Pierre Larry A. Nelson, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre Jeff Scoular, self, Sioux Falls
 Others: Roger Tellinghuisen, South Dakota Association of County Commissioners, Pierre

THE CHAIR DEFERRED HB 1108

MOTION: RECONSIDER SB 178

Moved by:	Crabtree
Second by:	Schoenbeck
Action:	Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by:	Schoenbeck
Second by:	Crabtree
Action:	Prevailed by voice vote

Susan Gullickson, Committee Secretary

/s/ DAVID WHEELER David Wheeler, Chair