

2023 South Dakota Legislature

Senate Concurrent Resolution 601 ENROLLED

An Act

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION, Encouraging the Executive Board of the Legislature to authorize and form an interim legislative committee on nuclear power in South Dakota.

WHEREAS, nuclear power is a source of energy that protects air quality by producing carbon-free electricity and is therefore one of the cleanest energy sources available; and

WHEREAS, the nuclear power industry supports many jobs throughout the United States and contributes locally and nationally to the economy; and

WHEREAS, nuclear power plants operate safely and at a higher capacity than renewable energy sources and fossil fuels; and

WHEREAS, there are no nuclear power plants located in South Dakota but the state relies on nuclear power produced in Minnesota:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the Ninety-Eighth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, the House of Representatives concurring therein, that the Executive Board of the Legislative Research Council consider establishing an interim legislative committee to examine the potential use of nuclear power in South Dakota, to include a nuclear power plant, for the establishment of a safe, clean, and reliable source of energy for South Dakota.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this legislative study is recommended to be under the supervision of the Executive Board of the Legislative Research Council, staffed and funded as an interim legislative committee, and that the interim legislative committee report to the Legislature and the Governor before the beginning of the Ninety-Ninth Legislative Session. The report may include draft legislation; policy recommendations; an abbreviated summary of state and federal legislation on nuclear power; information on nuclear power structure, design, and operation; relevant stakeholder information; and citizen feedback.

Adopted by the Senate, Concurred in by the House of Representatives, January 30, 2023 February 7, 2023

Larry Rhoden President of the Senate Kay Johnson

Secretary of the Senate

Hugh Bartels Speaker of the House Patricia Miller Chief Clerk