Committee: Senate Health and Human Services

Monday, February 06, 2023 7:45 AM

# Roll Call

Present:	Sen. Diedrich, Sen. Reed, Sen. Rohl, Sen. Novstrup, Sen. Davis, and
	Sen. Tobin
Excused:	Sen. Bordeaux

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

# The meeting was called to order by Senator Tobin

# MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 03<sup>RD</sup>

Moved by: Davis Second by: Diedrich Action: Prevailed by voice vote

#### **THE CHAIR DEFERRED SB 201**

# SB 204 : expand critical incident stress management to health care facility personnel providing emergency services.

Presented by: Senator Michael Diedrich

Proponents: Tim Rave, South Dakota Association of Healthcare Organizations, Sioux Falls Deb Fischer-Clemens, Avera Health, Sioux Falls

#### MOTION: DO PASS SB 204

- Moved by: Reed
- Second by: Davis

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Diedrich, Reed, Rohl, Novstrup, Davis, and Tobin

Excused: Bordeaux

# HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 204 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

# SB 198 : allow medical cannabis establishments to maintain certain cardholder data and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Senator Sydney Davis

Proponents: Kittrick Jeffries, Dakota Cannabis Consulting, Rapid City Deb Peters, Blau Ernte LLC dba True North Dispensary, North Sioux City, IA

# MOTION: AMEND SB 198

198A

On page 1, line 11, of the Introduced bill, after "purposes" insert ", other than marketing, promotional activities, or the offering of product discounts"

Moved by:NovstrupAction:Died for lack of a second

# MOTION: DO PASS SB 198

Moved by: Davis

Second by: Rohl

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (5-1-1-0)

- Voting Yes: Diedrich, Reed, Rohl, Davis, and Tobin
- Voting No: Novstrup
- Excused: Bordeaux

# **SB 130 :** provide for philosophical exceptions to required vaccinations.

Presented by: Senator Tom Pischke (Handout(s) 1)		
Proponents:	Matthew Monfore, self, Hot Springs	
	Stacia Buckholtz, Elk Point, SD. Self	
	Mya Olson, Bradley, SD, Self	
	Sonja Van Erewyk, Mitchell, SD, Self	
Opponents:	Tim Rave, South Dakota Association of Healthcare Organizations, Sioux Falls	
	Justin G. Smith, Wellmark of South Dakota, Inc., Des Moines, IA	
	Daniel J. Heinemann, South Dakota Academy of Family Physicians,	
	Watertown	
	Jessica Filler, Associated School Boards of South Dakota, Pierre	
	Doug Abraham, South Dakota Association of Specialty Care Providers, Rapid	
	City	
	Deb Fischer-Clemens, Avera Health, Sioux Falls	
	Mitchell Rave, Sanford Health, Sioux Falls	

# MOTION: DEFER SB 130 TO THE 41<sup>ST</sup> LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by:	Reed
Second by:	Davis
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Diedrich, Reed, Rohl, Novstrup, Davis, and Tobin

Excused: Bordeaux

# MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Rohl Second by: Davis Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Mary Kirk, Committee Secretary

/s/ ERIN TOBIN Erin Tobin, Chair