Committee: House Agriculture and Natural Resources Tuesday, February 07, 2023 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Auch, Rep. Gross, Rep. Ladner, Rep. Lems, Rep. Drew Peterson, Rep. Sauder, Rep. Schneider, Rep. Sjaarda, Rep. St. John, Rep. Wangsness, Rep. Wittman, Rep. Overweg, and Rep. Chase

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Chase

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 02ND

Moved by:WangsnessSecond by:WittmanAction:Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1210 : provide that interest earned on money in the conservation district special revenue fund must be deposited in the fund.

Presented by: Representative James D. Wangsness Proponents: Angela Ehlers, SD Association of Conservation Districts, Pierre

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1210

Moved by:	Wangsness
Second by:	Gross
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Auch, Gross, Ladner, Lems, Drew Peterson, Sauder, Schneider, Sjaarda, St. John, Wangsness, Wittman, Overweg, and Chase

HB 1186 : require restitution for landowners following an unauthorized entry to hunt, fish, or trap.

Presented by: Representative Neal Pinnow

Proponents: Doug Abraham, South Dakota Landowner and Outfitter Alliance, Pierre Paul Lepisto, SD Division of the Izaak Walton League of America, Pierre Nick Falk, Pierre, SD, Self

MOTION: AMEND HB 1186

1186A

On page 1, line 7, of the Introduced bill, after "conviction" insert " of unknowing trespass"

On page 1, line 8, of the Introduced bill, delete "two " and insert "one "

Moved by: Drew Peterson

Second by: Sauder

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1186 AS AMENDED

Moved by:	Wangsness
Second by:	Wittman
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-5-0-0)

- Voting Yes: Lems, Drew Peterson, Sauder, Sjaarda, St. John, Wangsness, Wittman, and Chase
- Voting No: Auch, Gross, Ladner, Schneider, and Overweg

Leopold Award Presentation

The Bien Ranch, Leopold Award winners for 2022 presented on conservation efforts practiced on their ranch.

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by:WangsnessSecond by:SauderAction:Prevailed by voice vote

Mary Kirk, Committee Secretary

/s/ ROGER CHASE Roger Chase, Chair