Committee: House Education Friday, February 03, 2023 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. DeGroot, Rep. Heermann, Rep. Reisch, Rep. Callies, Rep. Arlint,

Rep. Sauder, Rep. Moore, Rep. Mulder, Rep. Emery, Rep. Odenbach,

Rep. Soye, Rep. Phil Jensen, Rep. Tordsen, Rep. Deutsch, and Rep. Stevens

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Stevens

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 25TH

Moved by: Phil Jensen Second by: Sove

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HCR 6010: Encouraging the Executive Board of the Legislature to establish a taskforce to study the availability of childcare.

Presented by: Representative Erin Healy

MOTION: TO TABLE HCR 6010

Moved by: Soye Second by: Mulder

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (14-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: DeGroot, Heermann, Reisch, Callies, Arlint, Sauder, Moore, Mulder,

Odenbach, Soye, Phil Jensen, Tordsen, Deutsch, and Stevens

Excused: Emery

HB 1191: clarify the duties of truancy officers.

Presented by: Representative Roger DeGroot

Proponents: Rob L. Monson, School Administrators of South Dakota, Pierre

Dianna Miller, Large School Group (Aberdeen), Aberdeen

Wade Pogany, Associated School Boards of South Dakota, Pierre

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1191

Moved by: Odenbach Second by: Soye

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (15-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: DeGroot, Heermann, Reisch, Callies, Arlint, Sauder, Moore, Mulder, Emery,

Odenbach, Soye, Phil Jensen, Tordsen, Deutsch, and Stevens

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1191 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

SB 37: revise provisions pertaining to the South Dakota School for the Deaf.

Presented by: Kim Wadsworth, Superintendent, South Dakota School for the Deaf

MOTION: DO PASS SB 37

Moved by: Mulder Second by: Reisch

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (15-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: DeGroot, Heermann, Reisch, Callies, Arlint, Sauder, Moore, Mulder, Emery,

Odenbach, Soye, Phil Jensen, Tordsen, Deutsch, and Stevens

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Callies Second by: Phil Jensen

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Julianne Graham, Committee Secretary

/s/ MIKE STEVENS Mike Stevens, Chair