Committee: House Retirement Laws Wednesday, February 08, 2023 3:00 PM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Nelson, Rep. Pinnow, Rep. Weisgram, and Rep. Bartels

Excused: Rep. Perry

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Bartels

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 18TH

Moved by: Pinnow Second by: Weisgram

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1119: to classify 911 telecommunicators as Class B members of the South Dakota Retirement System.

Presented by: Representative David Kull

MOTION: TO TABLE HB 1119

Moved by: Weisgram Second by: Nelson

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (4-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Nelson, Pinnow, Weisgram, and Bartels

Excused: Perry

HB 1007: to add emergency medical services personnel to Class B public safety membership of the South Dakota Retirement System.

Presented by: Shawn Fischer, Sturgis Ambulance, Sturgis

Proponents: Maynard Konechne, South Dakota Emergency Medical Services Assoc., Sioux

Falls

Steve Willard, South Dakota Joint Fire Council, Rapid City Samantha Koldenhoven, South Dakota Retirement System

MOTION: AMEND HB 1007

1007A

On page 4, line 17, of the Introduced bill, delete " an emergency medical services driver, emergency medical responder, emergency medical technician (EMT), emergency medical technician-intermediate/85, emergency medical technician-intermediate/99, emergency medical technician-advanced, emergency medical technician-paramedic, or emergency medical technician-critical care paramedic, as certified by the Department of Health" and insert " a person licensed by the Board of Medical and Osteopathic Examiners in accordance with chapter 36-4B or licensed or certified by the Department of Health in accordance with chapter 34-11 who actively practices emergency medical services"

Moved by: Weisgram Second by: Nelson

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1007 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Pinnow Second by: Nelson

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (4-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Nelson, Pinnow, Weisgram, and Bartels

Excused: Perry

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1007 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

HB 1008: to revise provisions relating to actuarial terminology used by the South Dakota Retirement System.

Presented by: Doug Fiddler, South Dakota Retirement System

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1008

Moved by: Weisgram Second by: Pinnow

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (4-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Nelson, Pinnow, Weisgram, and Bartels

Excused: Perry

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1008 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

HB 1009: update and clarify certain provisions relating to the South Dakota Retirement System.

Presented by: Jacque Storm, South Dakota Retirement System

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1009

Moved by: Weisgram Second by: Nelson

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (4-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Nelson, Pinnow, Weisgram, and Bartels

Excused: Perry

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1009 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

HB 1177: revise the retirement benefits of certain rehired teachers at qualifying public school districts.

Presented by: Representative Tim Reisch (Handout(s) 1,2)

Proponents: Rob L. Monson, School Administrators of South Dakota, Pierre

Dianna Miller, Large School Group (Aberdeen), Aberdeen

Mitch Richter, South Dakota United School Association, Milbank

Opponents: James Johns, South Dakota Retirement System

Doug Fiddler, South Dakota Retirement System

Matt Clark, South Dakota Investment Council, Sioux Falls

Louise Loban, self, Volga

Derek Johnson, Bureau of Finance and Management

MOTION: DEFER HB 1177 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Pinnow Second by: Weisgram

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (4-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Nelson, Pinnow, Weisgram, and Bartels

Excused: Perry

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Weisgram Second by: Nelson

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Janelle Toman, Committee Secretary

/s/ HUGH M. BARTELS Hugh M. Bartels, Chair