Committee: Senate Local Government

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Castleberry, Sen. Deibert, Sen. Steve Kolbeck, Sen. Larson, Sen. Pischke, Sen. Mehlhaff, and Sen. Reed

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Reed

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 01ST

Moved by:PischkeSecond by:MehlhaffAction:Prevailed by voice vote

SB 88 : amend a provision allowing municipalities to jointly license and regulate intercity services.

Presented by: Senator Michael H. Rohl Proponents: Yvonne Taylor, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre

MOTION: DO PASS SB 88

Moved by:	Steve Kolbeck
Second by:	Pischke
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Castleberry, Deibert, Steve Kolbeck, Larson, Pischke, Mehlhaff, and Reed

SB 162 : revise public meeting requirements.

Presented by: Senator Michael Diedrich

Proponents: Yvonne Taylor, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre David Bordewyk, South Dakota Newspaper Association, Brookings Opponents: Gerry Kaufman, self, Huron

MOTION: DO PASS SB 162

Moved by:	Mehlhaff
Second by:	Deibert
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Castleberry, Deibert, Larson, Pischke, Mehlhaff, and Reed

Excused: Steve Kolbeck

SJR 505 : Proposing and submitting to the electors at the next general election an amendment to the Constitution of the State of South Dakota, updating references to certain officeholders and persons.

Presented by: Senator Erin Tobin

Proponents: Katie Hruska, Governor's Office

MOTION: DO PASS SJR 505

Moved by:	Castleberry
Second by:	Larson
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Castleberry, Deibert, Steve Kolbeck, Larson, Pischke, Mehlhaff, and Reed

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by:DeibertSecond by:PischkeAction:Prevailed by voice vote

Susan Gullickson, Committee Secretary

/s/ TIM REED Tim Reed, Chair