Committee: House Transportation Thursday, February 02, 2023 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Teunissen, Rep. Randolph, Rep. Drew Peterson, Rep. Kevin Jensen,

Rep. Duffy, Rep. Krohmer, Rep. May, Rep. Schaefbauer, Rep. Shorma,

Rep. Mulally, Rep. Emery, Rep. Gross, and Rep. Blare

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Blare

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF TUESDAY, JANUARY 31ST

Moved by: Krohmer Second by: Kevin Jensen

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: INTRODUCE A BILL AT THE REQUEST OF THE COMMITTEE ENTITLED:

An Act to waive the fee for nondriver identification cards for individuals who are

homeless and tomake an appropriation thereof.

Moved by: Gross

Second by: Drew Peterson

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Present (12-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Teunissen, Randolph, Drew Peterson, Kevin Jensen, Duffy, Krohmer, May,

Schaefbauer, Shorma, Emery, Gross, and Blare

Excused: Mulally

HB 1107: allow townships to assess up to four dollars per front foot for a township paved road in a paved development and assess properties within three hundred feet of the paved road.

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1107

Moved by: Drew Peterson Second by: Teunissen

Action: Was not acted on.

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DEFER HB 1107 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE

DAY

Moved by: Randolph Second by: May

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-6-0-0)

Voting Yes: Randolph, Kevin Jensen, Krohmer, May, Schaefbauer, Mulally, and Gross

Voting No: Teunissen, Drew Peterson, Duffy, Shorma, Emery, and Blare

HB 1126: revise the fee for a utility to cross a railroad right-of-way.

Presented by: Representative Roger Chase

Proponents: Dean Krogman, Rapid City, Pierre & Eastern Railroad Inc, Pittsburg, PA Opponents: Darla Pollman Rogers, South Dakota Rural Electric Association, Pierre

Kara Semmler, South Dakota Telecommunications Association, Pierre Brett Koenecke, South Dakota Electric Utility Companies, Pierre Robert Michael Raker, West River Electric Association Inc., Wall

Lindsey Riter-Rapp, South Dakota Association of Rural Water Systems,

Madison

David Reiss, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre

Chris Hill, South Dakota Municipal Electric Association, Fort Pierre Samuel J. Nelson, Missouri River Energy Services, Sioux Falls

Ryan Brunner, Governor's Office

Brenda Forman, South Dakota Association of Cooperatives, Pierre

Others: Representative Scott Moore

MOTION: AMEND HB 1126

1126A

On page 1, line 6, of the Introduced bill, remove the overstrikes from "seven"

On page 1, line 7, of the Introduced bill, remove the overstrikes from "hundred fifty"

On page 1, line 7, of the Introduced bill, after "fifty" delete "fourteen hundred"

On page 1, line 22, of the Introduced bill, remove the overstrikes from "seven hundred fifty"

On page 1, line 22, of the Introduced bill, after "fifty" delete "fourteen hundred"

Moved by: Shorma Second by: Schaefbauer

Action: Failed by Majority Members Present (1-12-0-0)

Voting Yes: Shorma

Voting No: Teunissen, Randolph, Drew Peterson, Kevin Jensen, Duffy, Krohmer, May,

Schaefbauer, Mulally, Emery, Gross, and Blare

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DEFER HB 1126 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE

DAY

Moved by: Randolph Second by: May

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Teunissen, Randolph, Drew Peterson, Kevin Jensen, Duffy, Krohmer, May,

Schaefbauer, Shorma, Mulally, Emery, Gross, and Blare

SB 15: to accept Uniformed Services ID as proof of veteran status to have veteran designation added to a state license or ID card.

Proponents: Jane Schrank, Department of Public Safety

MOTION: DO PASS SB 15

Moved by: Drew Peterson

Second by: Krohmer

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Teunissen, Randolph, Drew Peterson, Kevin Jensen, Duffy, Krohmer, May,

Schaefbauer, Shorma, Mulally, Emery, Gross, and Blare

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 15 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Shorma Second by: Krohmer

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Mary Stewart, Committee Secretary

/s/ ROCKY BLARE Rocky Blare, Chair